Re"Boot" NOPE
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Re"Boot" NOPE

  1. #1
    Friend of Staff fancyf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    @ncyville
    Posts
    1,386

    Re"Boot" NOPE

    Hi guys *S* I have an all-in-one PC... HP TouchSmart 520-1138cb (yea... long time since I've built one from scratch) Anyways..
    I've disabled the touch screen... a pain. It does overheat so I'm using an external fan which does wonder. I've never dared opening it... not used to all-in-ones.
    The problem is that if I reboot or shutdown & start again, it goes to a blank screen and stalls.
    The only way I can get it to boot is to go into bios and exit.

    Any ideas on what I could do?

    Thanks
    Anti-wrinkle cream there may be, but anti-b astard cream there is not..

  2. #2
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,180
    If it's overheating, you might want to take off the back cover and see if the fan is working.
    From the pictures, it looks like a blower fan with the heatsink fins pointing towards the top. Check that the fan is clean and nothing is clogging up the heatsink.
    https://support.hp.com/my-en/document/c03051366

  3. #3
    Friend of Staff fancyf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    @ncyville
    Posts
    1,386
    Hi Midknyte, long time! Thanks. Yea, opening it huh... :/ hmm ok.
    Thanks for the link! it will be useful. I too suspect that the fan doesn't quite work anymore, that or the dust had the best of it.

    Still, how can it not reboot normally? but going into bios and exiting does the trick?

    Thanks again *S*
    Last edited by fancyf; 07-31-2017 at 11:03 PM.
    Anti-wrinkle cream there may be, but anti-b astard cream there is not..

  4. #4
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,180
    It looks like you just need to take off 3 screws, and then the back cover pops off.

    I've seen those blower fans get clogged on laptops before. Gotta check the area between the fan and the heatsink fins. I'd blow out the heatsink with some canned air.

    Hard to say without some kind of error message. See if there are any CPU temps when you go into the BIOS.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,899
    By going into BIOS, you are resetting the overtemp switch.
    It does not take much dust to cut 20 - 25% of the airflow from a blower.
    I used a airflow meter during testing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •