Cloning Seagate to Western Digital 2 TB-HDD with clonezilla-WINXP
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: Cloning Seagate to Western Digital 2 TB-HDD with clonezilla-WINXP

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436

    Cloning Seagate to Western Digital 2 TB-HDD with clonezilla-WINXP

    After heavy problems cloning with True Image 2014 Pro(one can use other than WD drive too) i first ran SFC then switched to Clonezilla first with default. second time with repair-option but it hanged couldnt copy bootloader. at that time from first trial all four partitions were visible.
    After second time the volume was gone, so i had it set. First i will retry without formatting.
    What do you think? Formatting or not? HDDs are of identical sizes.
    Seagate= Donor
    WD on external esata-enclosure Orico 6518series 3.5"
    WINXP
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,919
    Hdd to hdd and everything should clone.

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    Was not working. did a quickformat and afterwards normal formatting. told: not done errorfree.
    I wonder of Sea to Sea would work.
    Will then first try(when formatting is errorfree) on slower sata-slot on MOBO.
    maybe docking-station is the problem or its esata-cable. have no replacement yet. trying usb would last endless.
    UPDATE:
    Was showing a "minus" and dynamic . asked to reactivate or convert to base drive.
    did reactivate. is dynamic. i could delete volume.
    What next?
    Last edited by europanorama; 07-28-2017 at 12:34 PM.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,919

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    No but i will reread.
    Maybe you could give me a hint....
    Must it be Basic since it must boot.
    And i could make a clone it booted but lately it hang.
    Only dont know how-not with which program it was Trueimage 2014, 2015 not working with winxp- but which connection was used. direct second slow sata-slot, external quick esata slot oc pci-esata.
    maybe drive never had been healthy,mus be replaced. maybe best getting a different than the WG green WD20 EZRX.
    Its a new one only used for cloning. Was ready for use in win7 but i decided to use a newer backup-drive than the old one where i would have deleted stuff during cloning.

    Since the Donor is Basis also the takeup-HD must be basis right?
    When not having set the volume it will not be recognized for cloning, right?
    and i did never set a drive-letter. only after first trial with clonezilla which i interrupted partitons were created and letters assigned. but no partition-access then.
    Last edited by europanorama; 07-28-2017 at 11:01 PM.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    Basis-Primary- Formatting running, i see %tic now. i am hopeful. will first do cloning with clonezilla with drive attached to slow SATA-slot. MOBO is outside case.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    Formatted WD-clone-takeup-drive. errorfree.
    Will now shut down PC. was running quite long.
    Then coling with clonezilla drive attached to internal slow sata-slot. or maybe i should try first the quick one where external one is attached?
    how long to clone 2TB? speed is 3gb/sec.
    I can hardly believe it can be done in 2000/3 secs.= 666sec/11 min. slot sata half of that speed.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    SFC.ex /scannow done. had to adjust path to i386.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,919
    Why we take notes.

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    I am unsure how i will clone now the clean drive. clonezilla instead of True image 2014 used for winxp-system.
    maybe best to first try on second quick sata-slot directly. next time when testing esata all backup up data could be lost....
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436

    SOLVED-halfway with clonezilla

    could clone the drive with cloenzilla. will now backup systempartition with clonezilla leaving Trueimage alone for now.
    will later try again with takeup on docking-station with new cable.
    Or i will wait until win7-system is ready to do the same. i like incremental option in Trueimage.
    only cloning was the problem.
    I am currently on the cloned drive. only removed data-cable on donor.
    Is there a rule-when working with backup-systemdrives systemparition activated or not. why should i deactivate when not used as bootdrive?
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    saving systempartition with clonezilla.
    tried but failed-to understand? partition to image then.
    at first trial cd was spitten out but system was blocked. maybe better loading to ram.
    And instructions where to save is misunderstandibly.
    i marked the donor-partion and in next step they do not say pls mark where to save....
    and when i wanted to reboot system was blocked....
    Still winxp. will now change CD.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436

    cannot backup systempartition with clonezilla to second HDD.

    marked systempartition to be imaged but clonezilla only is showing me directories of the actual drive. no chance to save to external drive.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  14. #14
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    have found an instruction in german. hope its working now:
    https://subsetlines.files.wordpress....clonezilla.pdf
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  15. #15
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436

    Last Misteries of Clonezilla RESOLVED

    Could resolve the misteries mentioned before:
    1. one must wait for commands to do next steps. e.g. shutdown or reboot.
    2. other than in Trueimage Clonezilla wants DESTINATION FIRST!
    3. German help-file differs from original Boot-CD(also in german one can choose).
    Helpfile telling one must define where the image must be written.

    In CD its telling system must know from where it must be recovered..... Strange and silly!
    Now on the search of the perfect CLONEZILLA-version....
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •