Cloning Four-partition HDD is failing with Trueimage
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 43

Thread: Cloning Four-partition HDD is failing with Trueimage

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436

    Cloning Four-partition HDD is failing with Trueimage

    Have a full version of trueimage but cannot clone my seagate 2TB HDD to a WD-equivalent new and properly formatted esata-drive.
    First trial is showing one partition could be cloned. tried with both sector by sector and standard setting(with selecting that).
    Will now try with clonezila.
    Winxp
    Last edited by europanorama; 04-29-2017 at 03:25 AM.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,920
    Try with the WD version of TI.

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    Or not with boot-cd?
    I am using he neutral version which MUST be the WD-one or not?
    Last edited by europanorama; 04-29-2017 at 03:20 PM.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,920
    Boot cd is fine.
    Seagate has a version that reads all hdds but only closes to Seagate hdds.
    WD version reads all but will only write to WD hdds.

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    Hoping 2015-version is still suporting winxp.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436

    Cloning still failing

    1. external WD-2 TB-HDD on esata was unassociated.
    2. cannot clone with boot-cd Trueimage 2014
    3. TI 2015 is freezin in winxp.
    4. I fear clonezilla
    will now try with installed TI.
    Maybe esata is the problem or i should refresh cmos. removing battery etc.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    I forgot the second HHD-clean-program/command
    How is it called?
    1. chkdsk
    2. ?
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    Quote Originally Posted by europanorama View Post
    I forgot the second HHD-clean-program/command
    How is it called?
    1. chkdsk
    2. ?
    2. SFC /scannow
    Solved with these.
    Seagate and WD-hdd have identical size.
    When i bought the drive originally i wanted WD but only recognized the wrong one when seal was already opened.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    Could make TI run but there were multiple writing-problems at 613 000 0000 or similar.
    Then i didnt totally restart when it was blocked or very slow. Instead i restarted cloning.
    At the end i thought i landed in save mode but maybe it was only low res. did a system-restore. told nothing changed.
    I am now about to reinstall videodriver. the last stable one for winxp.
    one must always shut down pc when changings were done for TI running.
    And: i had seen external empty drive being unallocated when i tried old TI 2014 boot CD which was working beforehand for systempartion-backups. never succeeded cloning.
    maybe i should have defragged last partition.
    will interrupt this work when resolution is up again since important task to do.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    will get a second seagate after last partition had been defragged. and clone the old one. I hope
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    when last partition is defragged i will retry.
    a) should i leave heavily defragged systemimages-partition alone?
    b) how about running Trueimage from windows?
    c) how about a trial with hdd on slow slot?
    d) attaching inside pc on quick sata-slot(identical to esata)?
    e) how must be handled the empty drive after each trial?
    formatting too several hours-at least 3 hrs. last time i did quick format.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  12. #12
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,920
    Quote Originally Posted by europanorama View Post
    when last partition is defragged i will retry.
    a) should i leave heavily defragged systemimages-partition alone?
    b) how about running Trueimage from windows?
    c) how about a trial with hdd on slow slot?
    d) attaching inside pc on quick sata-slot(identical to esata)?
    e) how must be handled the empty drive after each trial?
    formatting too several hours-at least 3 hrs. last time i did quick format.
    a. I always do a clean up and defrag before starting.
    b. You can but I prefer the bootable cd.
    c. Many a time slow has worked better than fast for me.
    d. I would try and keep notes.

    e. quick should do the trick, but once in a while, I have had to go the long route.

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436
    a) i have read that partitions with system images should be left alone
    b) attaching empty hdd on slow sata-slot instead of external esata(second quick slot)
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  14. #14
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,920
    a) . Fair enough.

  15. #15
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,436

    Success on slow SATA-slot

    Unbelievable but true
    Could clone main sea2TB-hdd to empty(unallocated) WD2TB-HDD(same size) with Trueimage 2014.
    Should have used the other sata-cable leading out to esata from second quick sata-slot. Will do for the next cloning of the same HDDs.
    Then trying again with esata. If not working replacing esata-cable.
    beforehand i will clean the contacts this time with contact-spray and not alcohol 70%. maybe better using 90%.
    Booting always from quick slot if not set otherwise in cmos?
    Both drive option in cmos then obviously.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •