Formatting error-New Hdd-setup externally on esata-enclosure-WINXP
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Formatting error-New Hdd-setup externally on esata-enclosure-WINXP

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,349

    Formatting error-New Hdd-setup externally on esata-enclosure-WINXP

    Winxp-HDD-administration showing formatting-error on a new 2TB-HDD connected as esata-drive on second quick slot.
    I will repeat it. maybe better "attaching" drive only after system has been started.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,349

    3rd trial

    1st trial leading to the error didnt show counting up %
    2nd trial was showing the % but it stopped at 58% so i shut down pc.
    hdd was setup as dynamic since i have read with these partitions-sizes could easier be changed but:
    the original HDD which must be backed up is a setup as BASIC not dynamic.
    so when setting it up again i will change to BASIC.
    AND:formatting was very slow. maybe 4 hrs for these 2TB as esata external drive.
    Last edited by europanorama; 04-01-2017 at 08:18 AM.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,865
    Time sounds about right.

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,349
    Yes tenacity pays-hartnäckigkiet zahlt sich aus. Thanks to endless help here. One cannot be thankful enough. Hello all!
    Ok formatting in last stage. 3.5 hrs for 2 TB HDD-WD.
    NB: i could also repair external backup-drive taking up systempartition. All still Winxp.
    2TB-drive was for coming new win7-system on the same MOBO but then i decided the more secure way.
    --------------------------
    will try a win7-installation on 256gb SSD alone. adding and using it later with 2TB-HDD added. maybe i will wait until i can afford 1TB SSD-price is 330 CHF, maybe it will come down to 300 again. usd/chf is going up and down a bit.
    I will replace PSU because i have seen funk jump on processor-power-connector maybe after an accidental shock shut down caused by static discharging. MOBO now perfectly earthed. only main switch is in reach of my foot.....PC in danger. will relocate it too. but cable is too short to move the secured current distributor bar ontof of end of my desk.
    i will hang it to the back of deck since it is at a short distance to the wall to reach main wall PS.
    Last edited by europanorama; 04-01-2017 at 12:16 PM.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,865
    Bet you will find the 256 SSD plenty big enough.

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,349
    I will start with 256SSD-2 TB-HDD-combination and later when 1 TB SSD is here i will use the 2TB-HDD as external backup-drive.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,865
    Good planning.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •