Problem connecting to wifi
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Problem connecting to wifi

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    4

    Problem connecting to wifi

    Hi, Please can some one advise me. When I try to connect to my WiFi i have a message come up saying a certificate code is needed i am not too sure what this means.

    . I am using a HP pavilion
    . I am using XP Pro

    With kind regards

    Bristol

  2. #2
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,180
    What are the exact make/model of your router and computer? What kind of WiFi encryption are you using?

    It sounds like it is asking for your network's passphrase, which is normal.

    If your computer is running XP, then I'm guessing it's pretty old hardware. It may not support the newer WiFi encryption like WPA2. You might need to use a lower level of encryption or buy a new WiFi adapter.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte View Post
    What are the exact make/model of your router and computer? What kind of WiFi encryption are you using?

    It sounds like it is asking for your network's passphrase, which is normal.

    If your computer is running XP, then I'm guessing it's pretty old hardware. It may not support the newer WiFi encryption like WPA2. You might need to use a lower level of encryption or buy a new WiFi adapter.
    My Router is plus net UK supplier

  4. #4
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,180
    That doesn't tell us much. We can't help you if you can't provide specific details about your hardware.

    If your ISP provided the router, then you should probably call them for support. Did they setup the WiFi network for you?

    Again, the problem may be with your old hardware. Was it ever working with that router?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte View Post
    That doesn't tell us much. We can't help you if you can't provide specific details about your hardware.

    If your ISP provided the router, then you should probably call them for support. Did they setup the WiFi network for you?

    Again, the problem may be with your old hardware. Was it ever working with that router?
    Yes my old hardware was working with this ISO Router.

    The. computer is the HP Pavilion dv8000 Running windows XP home edition.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,919
    Specs
    http://www.notebookreview.com/notebo...ew-pics-specs/
    as it states there,
    The included Broadcom card was not initially able to connect to my Westell Versalink router provided by Verizon DSL. An older version of the driver turned out to work. Otherwise, sensitivity is good, and connections are reasonably reliable.
    I would try a power cycle of the modem/router first just incase that was latched up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •