Intel is shipping its fastest PC processor yet
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Intel is shipping its fastest PC processor yet

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,899

    Intel is shipping its fastest PC processor yet

    Intel is shipping its fastest PC processor to date and its first with eight cores.

    Many of the performance gains will also come from support for DDR4 memory, which is not in PCs yet. Compared to DDR3, the new memory will provide 50 percent faster internal data transfers, while reducing the energy consumption between 30 percent and 40 percent.

    The inclusion of eight cores and the latest throughput technologies allows for faster gaming, application performance and video transcoding and encoding, said Dan Bingham, an Intel marketing manager.

    http://www.computerworld.com/article...essor-yet.html

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    43
    Geez - that's more expensive than my first car!!

    And probably faster!!

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Riviera Beach, MD, USA
    Posts
    306


    I'll come down in price. "1" measly MB (as in MegaByte, not GigaByte) of RAM used to be over a million dollars.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,899
    Well remember 64MB of ram for my 1999 Compaq was $186. A year later 386 MB cost $38 from Crucial.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Riviera Beach, MD, USA
    Posts
    306
    Yep, I remember those days. Also remember paying $999.99 for a Fujitsu 500 MB hard drive.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,899
    Not that bad here.

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,410
    Consumer 16gb DDR4 are announce. but how to get 128gb if only 4 slots. i have seen DDR4-MOBOs(not skylake) with 8 slots.
    32gb DDR4 in the pipes? do they always have to be in pairs?
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,899
    If not in pairs, then the speed is half of the optimum. Why we went to pairs in the first place, faster by far.

    DDR 4 is limited to 64 GB on a 4 slot board and 128 GB on a 8 slot board.

    http://www.corsair.com/en/landing/ddr4

    Best for server farms savings wise.
    http://www.pcgamer.com/the-differenc...-and-ddr4-ram/

    After read this link, I will stay where I am with DDR3
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/8959/d...-and-crucial/8

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,410
    Patriot viper4 16g ddr4-2800 pc4 22400 200 chf each! = 800 CHF for 64 gb only!
    i5 16gb ddr4 win 10 home for 1500 chf
    i7 16 ddr3 1800 CHF
    can they be downgraded to win7.....
    maybe really waiting until the skylake-system is safe.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,899
    Yes, i would expect waiting would be a good option.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •