Memory work - doesn't work
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Memory work - doesn't work

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Red Wing, MN
    Posts
    1,264

    Memory work - doesn't work

    I have a problem with a Dell Inspiron 530s with Vista SP2 loaded (just reloaded).

    When booting the computer, I get 2 short beep codes. According to Dell, this refers to not recognizing memory modules. There are 2 sticks of DDR2-5300 512B. I take one stick out and the computer works on just 512MB in slot one. I switch the sticks and the other works. I switch sticks and the original may or may not work. I put both in (slots 1 and 3 or slots 2 and 4) and get the beep codes.

    I have taken memory from a known working computer and get the 2 beep codes. I inserted the stick in slots 1 and 3 and after that in slots 2 and 4, all with the same results.

    The only way I can get it to boot is 512MB inserted into slot one.

    Any ideas??

    JMHCS

  2. #2
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    21,973
    Are all the modules the same brand/model?

    Did you inspect the motherboard for bad caps?

    Is there a bios update available?

  3. #3
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    5,114
    I have a 530 with Vista and 4 gigs of ram - wish I had more ram.

    What's the history behind the machine? Was it working fine and then one day ___________ (fill in the blank)

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Red Wing, MN
    Posts
    1,264
    First to Midknyte:

    Are all the modules the same brand/model? Yes

    Did you inspect the motherboard for bad caps? Yes - None found

    Is there a bios update available? BIOS updated at reload

    To Steve R Jones:

    It was working on day and was turned off. The next day tried to turn on and the beeping started.

    This computer had a corrupted hard drive and needed to be reformated on at different computer before reloading. Other than that, no problems.


  5. #5
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    21,973
    Hmm. That's a tough one. So slots 2-4 don't work? Or do you mean it will only boot when one stick of ram is installed (any slot)?

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Red Wing, MN
    Posts
    1,264
    Midknyte-

    You are correct. Slots 2 and 4 do not work either. Slot 1 is the only slot that works. Very strange - never run into this before. I am running out of ideas. Maybe removing/replacing the battery or dropping from a 2 story building would help.

    I will keep trying. Thanks for your suggestions.

    JMHCS

  7. #7
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    21,973
    Sounds like a bad motherboard to me. You went through the proper progressions. Very strange.

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Red Wing, MN
    Posts
    1,264
    I have pretty much come to the same conclusion. Looks like trash to me. I will salvage parts and put this to bed. Thanks for your help.

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Red Wing, MN
    Posts
    1,264
    It is hard for my to give in. Here is another piece of the puzzle. I have concentrated on slot 1 of memory. There is only 1 stick of memory that will work only in slot 1. If I change to any other stick of known working memory into slot 1, it does not work. Only a specific stick in only slot 1. Very strange.

    When I reloaded this computer, I did a BIOS update. Do you think by going to a previous BIOS it could solve the problem???

  10. #10
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    21,973
    It's worth a shot. Nothing to lose there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •