dcsimg

View Poll Results: If we are to compare the 200Mhz CPU to an intel CPU, it will be more like a:

Voters
3. You may not vote on this poll
  • 386 or less

    1 33.33%
  • 486 200Mhz

    1 33.33%
  • Pentium 200Mhz

    0 0%
  • Pentium II 200Mhz

    1 33.33%
  • Pentium III and faster

    0 0%
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Broadcom CPU equivalent to which Intel line of CPU?

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305

    Broadcom CPU equivalent to which Intel line of CPU?

    So, as I was cleaning up my pile of old computer scrap parts, i found more than enough pieces to build several good boxes to run wired+wireless, router/firewall servers using pfSense, and also several servers to run NFS/NAS using freeNAS (NFS works perfectly as a VMware Datastore)

    But I was curios about the CPU equivalent of those Linksys routers using Broadcom BCM4785 series of CPUs at 200Mhz, 300Mhz, 350Mhz

    If we are to compare the 200Mhz CPU to an intel CPU, it will be more like a:
    486 200Mhz CPU?
    Pentium 200Mhz CPU?
    or a Pentium II 200Mhz CPU?

    it definitely can not be faster than a Pentium III CPU, that's for sure.

    Cheers!
    Last edited by AllGamer; 09-13-2009 at 02:55 PM.
    i7-3970X, Corsair H80, 32GB G.SKILL, ASUS RAMPAGE4 Formula, VG278H(3x27")+3D Vision2, EVGA GTX 690(x2), OCZ ZX1250W, 256GB Vertex4(x2), Seagate 3TB(x5), Antec LanBoyAir, Logitech G510, G600, Z560THX, T.Flight Hotas, PZ35, Sennheiser PC163D, TrackIR5

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Apex, North Carolina
    Posts
    1,981
    Here is a link to the specs at Broadcom .. I leave it to you to figure out which is better

    http://www.broadcom.com/products/Wir...b=features-tab

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member cdroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    in limbo
    Posts
    1,741
    It says the Broadcom does 500 DMIPS which probably can mean Meaningless Indicator of Processor Speed.
    SAVING FACE OR LOSING FACE

  4. #4
    Mod w/ an attitude Sterling_Aug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Schuylkill Haven, PA 1797
    Posts
    12,786
    Quote Originally Posted by cdroman View Post
    It says the Broadcom does 500 DMIPS which probably can mean Meaningless Indicator of Processor Speed.
    It should be very easy to compare apples to Porches (or Peaches to Herb).

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member Ol'Tunzafun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Canadian prairie
    Posts
    3,798
    The Broadcom 300MHz @ 500 DMIPS (probably Dhrystone 1.1 optimized ) would be roughly equal to the PII 300 @ 544 DMIPS. If we can extrapolate from that, the 200MHz Broadcom would be about the same as a PII 200.
    http://freespace.virgin.net/roy.long...%20results.htm

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305
    thanks guys, that's helpful info, specially that drystone link
    i7-3970X, Corsair H80, 32GB G.SKILL, ASUS RAMPAGE4 Formula, VG278H(3x27")+3D Vision2, EVGA GTX 690(x2), OCZ ZX1250W, 256GB Vertex4(x2), Seagate 3TB(x5), Antec LanBoyAir, Logitech G510, G600, Z560THX, T.Flight Hotas, PZ35, Sennheiser PC163D, TrackIR5

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305
    even at first i knew it was like comparing apple to orange,

    but there had to be something that can give us a base for extrapolation, so that drystone info was quite the link.

    pretty much like comparing the amount of water/nutrients an apple tree vs an orange tree absorbs.

    anyways now i know which left over CPUs to use for which project.

    and it seems like 486s are totally obsolete now.

    i got a good dual PIII 350, dual PI 233, single P2 200, single P2 500, 486 100, all with its motherboard and RAM.

    the Dual PI 233 / 512Mb is already allocated it to be a SATA RAID server (more 1.5Tb SATAs 8xSeagates using 2 PCI RAID cards), as it got load of room in a full tower case. freeNAS is going here. Gigabit NIC
    so the dual PIII 350 seems to be the best candidate for the pfsense router/firewall to do the ISP load balancing / fail over. i'll need 3 NICs here (2x 100Mbps, 1x Gbps)

    probably will use the remaining machines as WiFi relay point, or low level pfsense router/firewall to extend the range.
    got a big load of old WiFi B nic cards, and 100Mbps nic cards

    hmm... this weekend it's gonna be fun time
    Last edited by AllGamer; 09-18-2009 at 01:31 PM. Reason: it didn't let me edit the first one
    i7-3970X, Corsair H80, 32GB G.SKILL, ASUS RAMPAGE4 Formula, VG278H(3x27")+3D Vision2, EVGA GTX 690(x2), OCZ ZX1250W, 256GB Vertex4(x2), Seagate 3TB(x5), Antec LanBoyAir, Logitech G510, G600, Z560THX, T.Flight Hotas, PZ35, Sennheiser PC163D, TrackIR5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •