dcsimg
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Proc upgrade.... no post

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member TweakerXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Dem Dar Hills of Tennesse
    Posts
    1,730

    Proc upgrade.... no post

    I just tried to upgrade my proc from a AMD 6400 dual to a 940 quad (blackbox). I'm running a Asus m2n deluxe mobo. Ausu say it will work but I'm not getting squat out of it. No beeps, no video, nothing.

    Case fans are running, video fan is running....OK
    Pulled proc to check pins - OK ( looked before I installed)
    Video card pulled and reseated firmly.... OK
    Reset CMOS...OK
    Nothing else hooked up except HD, video card and memory.... NOTHING!!

    No beeps, no video.

    This is the second time I have taken down system and reset everything. Same results.

    WHAT am I missing here??

    Asus m2n deluxe
    4gig OCZ PC26400
    160GB WD HD
    8800GT XFX

    AMD 6400X2 dual core ( before installation of new proc) (it was running fine no problems at all ... maybe I should have left well enough alone!)

    Thanks folks...
    MS MCP, NET+

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member Rocketmech's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas
    Posts
    5,739
    Check for the latest bios update. Check bios settings. Check you have enough power.

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member Rocketmech's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas
    Posts
    5,739
    After checking, I don't see any Phenom II support for that board on Asus site. But, I hate searching their support site, so I didn't try hard.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    Socket AM2 not AM3 is what that board uses.

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member TweakerXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Dem Dar Hills of Tennesse
    Posts
    1,730
    I got a BFG 850 power supply so I think I have enough power.

    When you mention the Phenon support, I think that may be my problem.

    That means a new mobo and I don't have the funds right now,

    THAT JUST PLAIN'ol S&*#@ a big fat one!

    Guess I could sell my dog.
    MS MCP, NET+

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member TweakerXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Dem Dar Hills of Tennesse
    Posts
    1,730
    UPDATE:

    After digging a little bit deeper, Rocket gets the nod! No support for the phenon!

    anyone want to buy a slightly used dog?

    case closed.
    MS MCP, NET+

  7. #7
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Save it on a shelf for when you can afford a new mobo or eBay it.
    MS MCP, MCSE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •