Can't use Asus ExpressGate with wireless mouse & keyboard
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can't use Asus ExpressGate with wireless mouse & keyboard

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    93

    Can't use Asus ExpressGate with wireless mouse & keyboard

    I have an Asus M3N78 Pro motherboard and I have installed the latest version of its ExpressGate "instant OS" software, but I can't use it. I've set the relevant option in the BIOS and when I turn on the PC, the ExpressGate splash screen appears (before the BIOS splash screen) but my mouse doesn't move the cursor and my keyboard doesn't do anything. My deskset is the Trust DS-4700R (cheap but nice) and the keyboard works fine in the BIOS setup (thankfully!).

    Asus's support pages don't seem to have any information on this, so any help would be much appreciated.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Garrison
    There are no stupid questions, just stupid people.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,917

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    93
    Quote Originally Posted by Train View Post
    That page is about a different motherboard but it refers to the same ExpressGate software, although the screenshots look like an earlier version. The reviewer's USB mouse apparently works, but my wireless mouse doesn't.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Garrison
    There are no stupid questions, just stupid people.

  4. #4
    Mod w/ an attitude Sterling_Aug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Schuylkill Haven, PA 1797
    Posts
    12,786
    Quote Originally Posted by allanlewis View Post
    That page is about a different motherboard but it refers to the same ExpressGate software, although the screenshots look like an earlier version. The reviewer's USB mouse apparently works, but my wireless mouse doesn't.

    Sounds like a driver issue.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    93
    Quote Originally Posted by Sterling_Aug View Post
    Sounds like a driver issue.
    I've tried with a wired USB mouse and that doesn't work either. My motherboard doesn't have a PS/2 mouse port* so I can't try a PS/2 mouse instead.

    *although it does have a PS/2 keyboard port
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Garrison
    There are no stupid questions, just stupid people.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    93
    *bump*

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •