dcsimg
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Alert! Previous Voltage Failure

  1. #1
    Member Falcon51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Winston Salem, NC
    Posts
    104

    Alert! Previous Voltage Failure

    I was testing a new video card in my computer and got this message during system start-up:

    "Alert! Previous Voltage Failure"

    The card worked fine for me so I'm not sure why this message appeared.

    My computer is a Dell 530 Precession, running Windows XP,

    The new card is a BFG 7800 GS OC 256MB 8X AGP.

    My motherboard only support 4X AGP. When I put my old 4X AGP card in this message disappears. Could this be the cause for this alert message?
    <>< Rob ><>

  2. #2
    Senior Member pandaz3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Posts
    865
    I don't think so. The AGP cards are backwards compatible so you can use a 8X in a 4X slot. It seems more likely the PSU is not giving the card the voltage required. I am presuming you have the original PSU in you machine. It might be adequate for everything Dell put in there, but not for a bigger (More powerful) card

    Try reading a few links on this page

    As a for instance the PSU selector takes you to this Page (I figure you to be dyslexic like me, so your 530 is really a 350?)
    Last edited by pandaz3; 06-01-2008 at 01:06 PM.
    Rig 1, MSI K9A2 Platinum, 6400 Blackie, 2 X 2048 AData, MSI 3870; Rig 2, MSI K9A2 CF, 5000 Blackie, 2 X 1024 Patriot PC6400, ATI X1900 XT, Rig 3, Abit AN8 Fatal1ty, Opteron 185, 2 X 1024 Corsair PC3200C2PT ATI X1950 XTX Rig 4 Abit UL8 3800 X850 Pro

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member Imperion1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Offworld
    Posts
    4,292
    Did you plug a 4 pin molex power connector into the end of the video card?

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member Rocketmech's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas
    Posts
    5,739
    Dell has an alert like that when the system voltage gets out of tolerance . The new card was probably the cause , but you should look into the possibility your psu is getting weak or failing. Use a voltmeter to check the voltage on all the rails 3.3v (orange), 5v (red), 12v (yellow) . They should be within +/- 10% and steady within .02, preferably less . Check at idle and under load.

  5. #5
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,252
    Quote Originally Posted by Imperion1
    Did you plug a 4 pin molex power connector into the end of the video card?
    That's the same thing I said.

    http://www.sysopt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=200866

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •