dcsimg
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4
Results 46 to 55 of 55

Thread: BioShock PC or Xbox360

  1. #46
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Try disabling EAX features from the in-game options, or try lookign for an EAX 5.0 patch - i seem to recall reading somehtign about Bioshock and X-Fi's being a bit pernickerty with each other when running EAX

    --Jakk
    "You don't know Jakk..."

    Windows Vista Business x64
    Hiper 580Watt PSU -- Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3L -- Intel Core2Quad 6600 -- 4GB PC6400 -- 256MB GeForce FX7800GT
    SATA-II HDD 1x500Gb/1x400GB/1x250GB-- 1x120GB ATA-100 HDD
    [/B]

  2. #47
    Ultimate Member MadPistol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    In your thoughts, or AL
    Posts
    1,359
    I'll look for an updated driver and/or patch for the X-fi's regarding Bioshock. Also, I'm going to reinstall the game overnight, (aka download a crapload of data via steam) and hopefully everything will be good tomorrow.

    Thx for the advice guys.
    Core 2 Duo E6600 | eVGA 680i SLI | eVGA 8800 GTX | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair XMS2 2GB PC2-6400 800mhz @ 4-4-4-12 | Western Digital 500GB Caviar HDD | OCZ GameXStream 700-watt PSU | 24" Acer X241W LCD

  3. #48
    Ultimate Member CrazyCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, Milwaukee
    Posts
    3,045
    Think Jak is right,,,I did read something about the EAX issue in bioshock
    EVGA GTX 470
    OCZ 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3
    EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SLI
    COOLER MASTER Stacker RC-832-KKN1-GP Black
    Intel tel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz Quad-Core

  4. #49
    Ultimate Member MadPistol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    In your thoughts, or AL
    Posts
    1,359
    I redownloaded bioshock and installed the newest X-fi drivers. Whatever happened, it worked! I've been playing now for 20 minutes, and there hasn't been a single hiccup in the sound.

    Thanks for the help!
    Core 2 Duo E6600 | eVGA 680i SLI | eVGA 8800 GTX | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair XMS2 2GB PC2-6400 800mhz @ 4-4-4-12 | Western Digital 500GB Caviar HDD | OCZ GameXStream 700-watt PSU | 24" Acer X241W LCD

  5. #50
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    No prob, glad youve got it going okay

    --Jakk
    "You don't know Jakk..."

    Windows Vista Business x64
    Hiper 580Watt PSU -- Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3L -- Intel Core2Quad 6600 -- 4GB PC6400 -- 256MB GeForce FX7800GT
    SATA-II HDD 1x500Gb/1x400GB/1x250GB-- 1x120GB ATA-100 HDD
    [/B]

  6. #51
    Ultimate Member CrazyCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, Milwaukee
    Posts
    3,045
    Im not done beating it yet, IM taking my time going through every nuke and craney,,,,this game I have to say is one of the best games I have played to date, I'll prolly get killed for saying this but I think it knocks HL2 of the top of the ladder.
    EVGA GTX 470
    OCZ 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3
    EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SLI
    COOLER MASTER Stacker RC-832-KKN1-GP Black
    Intel tel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz Quad-Core

  7. #52
    Im still debating whether I should get this game or not, the demo was cool, but it actually was'nt really that fun. And something is telling me this game is not as revolutionary as it's hyped up to be as said here: http://www.gamevania.com/XBOX_360/bi...gameplay.shtml

  8. #53
    Hooya! Rabbitrunner51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in time
    Posts
    6,129
    Something tells me that this game is better on the XBox 360. I say this because the gameplay and the way it looks seems more suited for that. As to 'innovative', i'd disagree. i think its quite innovative in many areas. I have lots and lots of games old and latest, for comparison to base my judgment upon lol

    Being objective about the whole game, ( as i always like to look at thngs ), I DO think there is alot of very innovative and nice concepts,along with the very decent if not impressive graphics. I'd say if the game is even better or equal to the demo, then once again its worth it. " of course with any game that comes out, not everyone will see it the same way. This is just obvious with any game.
    Phenom 2 X4 B35 :ASRock N68C-S UCC: G Skill DDR1333 ( 4GB ): ATI Radeon HD6770 1GB : Logitech X504 5.1 SS speakers.:WD 500GB,&300GB Sata2 HD's ; Liteon Lightscribe 24X DVD/combo Drive : Antec 620C neo PSU: CTL 22"WS

  9. #54
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    Having played it for several hours on the 360, and having played it for several days on the PC, I'd have to say the PC is better. Pointing and shooting with the keyboard and mouse is 100x better than using the 360 controller, but that isn't the only reason...switching between weapons and plasmids by right clicking is much more intuitive...also, the mini-games where you hack security cameras, vending machines, etc, is much easier to do with a mouse compared to the 360 controller.
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  10. #55
    Hooya! Rabbitrunner51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in time
    Posts
    6,129
    Nice info... really that is very useful to know... I liked the demo just fine myself. I'm sure i'll get this game someday... ( like i need any more games right now LOL )

    Commenting on the use of a controller ( gamepad), versus keyboard and mouse, I've just always been under the impression that most games are better suited for mouse and keyboard. Depnds upon how the game is made,and what style i suppose. Personally, I only use a gamepad for driving or flying games.

    My close friend alwys used to only have a console and he was quite good at playing with a gamepad.. I'd try and I was clumbsy more times than not. He now has a computer and plays on that most of the time now,although he still is akwardat the use of KB and mouse.

    I can't see myself ever getting a XBox360. Considering, thats not to say from what i've seen and heard that it isn't worth getting. Graphics for that console are much improved... obvioulsy the best console plarform out right now.
    Last edited by Rabbitrunner51; 09-10-2007 at 09:13 PM.
    Phenom 2 X4 B35 :ASRock N68C-S UCC: G Skill DDR1333 ( 4GB ): ATI Radeon HD6770 1GB : Logitech X504 5.1 SS speakers.:WD 500GB,&300GB Sata2 HD's ; Liteon Lightscribe 24X DVD/combo Drive : Antec 620C neo PSU: CTL 22"WS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •