Thread: Question about DVD R/RW reliability

Question about DVD R/RW reliability

My dad says he doesn't trust burning to DVD because too much gets lost. Is this because DVD burning is still unreliable? Or because burning 4.5 Gigs means there's more room for error?

The reason I ask is because I am a photographer and I shoot in RAW format, so if I was to burn my pictures to CDs I would go through CDs faster than Brittney Spears gets a divorce. DVDs are MUCH more cost effective for me.

Anyone have some advice or suggestions?

Did you ask your dad why?

Some dvd/cd players don't like many brands of media...

Some of the media will self destruct in a few years due to poor manufaturing etc...
    "Vegetarians live up to nine years longer than the rest of us...Nine horrible, worthless, baconless years."

I archive to DVD's all the time. I typically keep 2 copies and use the verify data option when I make the discs. So far I have not lost data due to a bad disc because I keep 2 copies.

Make sure the disc has a long archive life such as a DICOM compliant medical archive CD / DVD from verbatim. That will eliminate data lose due to poor manufacturing but the discs are more expensive.
    -- Mathias

Burning to DVD is fine as long as you don't delete them from your harddrive. At the current price of harddisks, you could store 250 RAW files for about 25 cents. How much are they worth?
    The big problem with storing in raw format is that because the format is unique to each camera, the original software is required to convert it to something useful. Are we going to be able to do that 10 years from now? Even at this point, current Nikon software cannot read raw (nef) files from older Nikon cameras.

Mod w/ an attitude Sterling_Aug's Avatar
    If you want better reliability than CDs or DVDs, then buy hard drives and USB external drive enclosures.