Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: What Version of Vista will you get (If any)

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member CrazyCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, Milwaukee
    Posts
    3,045

    What Version of Vista will you get (If any)

    Im just wondering what Version of Vista you guys are going to get if any, Im still up in the Air as to which one I'll be getting and yes I will be getting it right away, I like it, its time for some change
    EVGA GTX 470
    OCZ 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3
    EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SLI
    COOLER MASTER Stacker RC-832-KKN1-GP Black
    Intel tel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz Quad-Core

  2. #2
    Member jadinolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Ojai, CA USA
    Posts
    198
    Nothing for me. I have $300 worth of XP and I'm not anxious to throw them away.
    jadinolf©1999

  3. #3
    Senior Member Shoreguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    between there and here
    Posts
    809
    The version that has the drivers for my rigs....or when all the device mfg's have stable releases of their drivers. If you've got anything from Creative, that just may be Q42009
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member CrazyCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, Milwaukee
    Posts
    3,045
    Its funny though I have been using the beta and all my Hardware works fine, I havent had any issue's or trouble finding driver's at all.
    EVGA GTX 470
    OCZ 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3
    EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SLI
    COOLER MASTER Stacker RC-832-KKN1-GP Black
    Intel tel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz Quad-Core

  5. #5
    Senior Member Shoreguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    between there and here
    Posts
    809
    I've been using beta as well for the past 12-18 months. Quite the progression from most companies. I'm not sold on Vista just yet, and especially as where under both 32V and 64V, I have various hangups with Creative(x-fi cards). I don't blame M$ for it though. It seems fairly stable for home use. Creative just seems to have imploded since their failed attempts at suing Mac over iTune v Zen.

    http://forums.creative.com/creativel...board.id=Vista will give you enough reading (if you can get through the 16yr old postcount-trolling posts) of the various problems.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member CrazyCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, Milwaukee
    Posts
    3,045
    Iím thinking I'll get Vista Business thatís 149 these is another for 199 ultra edition. I play allot of games so I think either one of them should be fine eh.
    EVGA GTX 470
    OCZ 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3
    EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SLI
    COOLER MASTER Stacker RC-832-KKN1-GP Black
    Intel tel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz Quad-Core

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member porsch1909's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2,121
    I am getting home premium upgrade.


    As long as the fancy aero pack is available I'm happy!

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member CrazyCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, Milwaukee
    Posts
    3,045
    How limited is home Premium? I have more than one PC so I'll have to buy an extra copy.
    EVGA GTX 470
    OCZ 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3
    EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SLI
    COOLER MASTER Stacker RC-832-KKN1-GP Black
    Intel tel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz Quad-Core

  9. #9
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,264
    http://www.winsupersite.com/vista/

    The lowest you should get is Home Premium. Basic doesn't have the Aero Glass interface.

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member porsch1909's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2,121
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvist...s/default.mspx

    That is a pretty good summary. Basic is just way to basic for my liking.

    Premium has everything I want....including 3d flip navigation

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member CrazyCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, Milwaukee
    Posts
    3,045
    How much are they charging for an extra license? 50 bucks or something or am I way off.
    EVGA GTX 470
    OCZ 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3
    EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SLI
    COOLER MASTER Stacker RC-832-KKN1-GP Black
    Intel tel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz Quad-Core

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Apex, North Carolina
    Posts
    1,981
    For now ... none ... will stick with XP Home .. or maybe XP Pro
    Now if I replace my PC in say 4 years or so then it would most
    likely come with Vista in which case I would select the one with
    the most features and ease of reinstallation or moving to a new pc

    Hopefully all programs that I currently run under XP will be able to
    run under Vista without the need for buying a whole bunch of sometimes
    very costly applications.

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member FijiJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Savusavu Fiji
    Posts
    1,197
    I've got Vista Ultimate (RTM version) and it has a lot of rough edges (i.e., missing drivers, no compatible app version yet, etc.). The eye candy is sort of pretty but mostly ridiculous. As usual, MS has included tons of customization features and spent less time on fixing bugs. Office 2007 is prettier and while the new interface may be easier to learn, it is hell for someone who is a power user of previous versions. I spent 5 minutes just looking for "insert graphic from scanner." (Which, BTW, is no longer possible. It has been removed altogether.) Getting a driver for the scanner that worked with Vista was an adventure of its own. My advice is wait for SP1.
    FijiJohn

  14. #14
    Ultimate Member CrazyCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, Milwaukee
    Posts
    3,045
    I'll be getting it, I didnít have one bad experience with the Beta, Plus my customer's will be getting it so I'm going to be needing it.
    EVGA GTX 470
    OCZ 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3
    EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SLI
    COOLER MASTER Stacker RC-832-KKN1-GP Black
    Intel tel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz Quad-Core

  15. #15
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Apex, North Carolina
    Posts
    1,981
    Fiji ... can you scan your image to a file and then use "Insert File or Insert Image" ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •