dcsimg
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Add an Icon to your Flash drive

  1. #1
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,252

    Add an Icon to your Flash drive

    Ever have a hard time figuring out which drive is your flash drive? This is especially true when you're working on someone else's computer. Many systems come with multiformat card readers now. Sometimes there are 5 or 6 removable devices! So how do you know which one is your flash drive?

    To remedy this, you can add a custom icon.

    1. Create a autorun.inf file with the following lines:
    [autorun]
    ICON=youricon.ico

    2. Create the icon file:
    Download one or make your own from a bitmap. I recommend an icon of 32x32 at 256 color for general compatibility. You won't be able to see much detail anyway, so just keep it simple.

    @iconsushi and IcoFX are good freeware icon editors.

    3. Put both files on the flash drive. You must keep autorun.inf in the root directory. You can put .ico files in a folder. Just change the path to ICON=foldername\youricon.ico

    You can grab some free icons here:
    http://www.iconarchive.com/
    http://iconfactory.com/freeware/
    http://www.iconspedia.com/

    It's just a little tweak to make your life easier.
    Last edited by Midknyte; 04-02-2010 at 09:15 PM. Reason: updated editor and icon links

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3

    HELP

    I did everything you said to do in the Thread, but mine doesn't work. Do you know the source of the problem?

    Thx

  3. #3
    Senior Member naptownman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    582
    Too cool!. Thanks, Midknyte.

  4. #4
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,252
    Quote Originally Posted by PhoenixCo
    I did everything you said to do in the Thread, but mine doesn't work. Do you know the source of the problem?

    Thx
    what did you do exactly? you need an ico file and an autorun.inf file. put both files in the root of the drive first. the path in the autorun.inf should be [autorun]
    ICON=youricon.ico

    what OS are you using? it works well in XP, but doesn't always seem to work in win2k for some reason.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3
    I got my icon from the net and downloaded it straight to my Flash Drive (B:\), then I put it into a folder called "Icons" (B:\Icons). Next, I typed up the file:

    [autorun]
    ICON=Icons\Fry.ico

    and saved it as "autorun.inf" (without the "). Maybe it's because I hid the "autorun" file?

    Thx

  6. #6
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,252
    what do you mean you hid the file? autorun.inf has to be in the ROOT of the drive. you cannot put the autorun.inf in your icons folder

    are you sure saved it as an inf and not a txt?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3
    Thx for your help but I works now. I removed my flash drive and put it in again and now the icon is there.

    Thx

  8. #8
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,252
    uh yeah. you have to allow windows to run the autorun.inf. if the drive is already plugged in, it won't run the autorun.inf.

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305
    On a related note.

    Anyone Knows how MAC does it?
    i've had my portable drive used in MAC/PC

    and after you finish using the drive in MAC and connect it to the PC
    those folders keeps the MAC icon, yet you check the directories/drive

    there are no images files anywhere.

    Where are those pictures stored at???

    and more importantly how does the MAC does that?, cuz it's a lot cooler than the way Windows works
    i7-3970X, Corsair H80, 32GB G.SKILL, ASUS RAMPAGE4 Formula, VG278H(3x27")+3D Vision2, EVGA GTX 690(x2), OCZ ZX1250W, 256GB Vertex4(x2), Seagate 3TB(x5), Antec LanBoyAir, Logitech G510, G600, Z560THX, T.Flight Hotas, PZ35, Sennheiser PC163D, TrackIR5

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member fizur2002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    1,837
    worked for me, thanks
    AMD Phenom II x4 940 @ 3.41GHZ : Asus M3A78-T : 8GB DDR2 800 : Acer 23" 1080P Widescreen : ATi Radeon HD 4870 : OCZ GameXtremE 850 Watt PSU

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •