dcsimg
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: Ahh Help! Geforce 6800 Gt

  1. #1
    Member J ROD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    43

    Ahh Help! Geforce 6800 Gt

    So I just got my card, and I booted up HL2 and I really can't get over 60 fps. I left settings as recommended, tried it, moved them down, tried it, moved them up, tried it, and it still isn't running like this nice card should. Anyone wanna help ?


    My system specs:
    P4, 3.02 FSB 133.7, Bus Speed 534.7
    PC3200 DDR 1.5gb freq 167 MHZ

    My agp apture is only 256 because when I went into the bios it only would go that high.




    Anyway, maybe I'm just a noob, but I really am havin trouble w/ this.

  2. #2
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    Disable Vertical Sync, see if that helps.
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  3. #3
    Member J ROD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    43
    No, I have that always off. I see how you could think that. I'm just sayin performance wise it just isn't what I am expecting out of a card like that. I updated nvidia drivers...and I did notice on the release all of this. No mention of the 6800 gt...

    Release Highlights:

    * Added support for GeForce 6600, GeForce 6600 GT, and GeForce 6200
    * Added support for SLI™
    * Added support for using HDTV over DVI connectors
    * Added support for 512 MB frame buffer GPUs
    * Added support for advanced DVI timing on all GeForce 6 series GPUs
    * Added support to recognize and display monitor name in all control panels
    * Added support for TV/HDTV setup in the nView Display Setup Wizard
    * Updated Gridlines for easier grid setup and management
    * Microsoft® DirectX® 9.0c and OpenGL® 1.5 support

    * WHQL Certified for GeForce 256 through GeForce 6 series.
    -------------------------------------------------

    So I really don't know. I've tinkered with combinations of settings for awhile, but it really won't get the output I'm after.
    Help anyone?

  4. #4
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    What settings are you running the game at?

    The reason you don't see anything about the 6800gt on the release notes is because the support for those cards was added in an earlier driver release.
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  5. #5
    Member J ROD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    43
    Resolution:
    1024X768
    Model Detail:
    High*
    Texture Detail:
    High*
    Water Detail:
    Reflect World*
    Shadow Detail:
    High*
    AntiAliasing Mode:
    4X*
    Flitering Mode:
    Anisotropic 8X*
    Shader Detail:
    High*
    Vertical sync:
    Disabled
    Direct X 9.0


    * indicating of course recommended settings.


    T_T

  6. #6
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    You should definately be getting a higher framerate at those settings. What is your score in 3DMark05, a normal score in this benchmark will let us see whether the problem is related to the game or related to your system.
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  7. #7
    Member J ROD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    43
    I dont' have 3dMark05. Link me? ty ty

  8. #8
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  9. #9
    Member J ROD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    43
    Thanks for the help mjc. I'm gonna dl that and go to bed. I'll post results tomorrow when I get home. Ty for the help. I spam you with screenies if I ever get this thing running the way it should be.

  10. #10
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    Don't worry, we'll get it all sorted out
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  11. #11
    Member J ROD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    43
    Ok, well I ran it and got a 3026 on the 3d Mark.
    I don't think thats good enough... Tell me what you think

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member CrazyCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, Milwaukee
    Posts
    3,045
    ye thats not right at all, have you downloaded Nvidias new 66.93 drivers yet? if not I would suggest completley removing your older ones and doing a fresh install, make sure your running DirectX 9c.

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member porsch1909's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2,121
    cobnsidering i get a 4912 with my X800 pro no thats not a very good score.

    if you look at teh post you 3dmark 05 score forum you will see that midknyte gets much highers scores than that with his 6800 GT albeit overclocked.


    what about the rest of ure system spec what is that like??

  14. #14
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    Also try scanning your computer for spyware/adware/virii or anything else that will bog down your computer.
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  15. #15
    Member J ROD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    43
    My comp is spyware free...and i Have 1.5 gb of ddr pc 3200... So I really don't think its being bogged down. Would the amount of power going to the card have an effect? I split it with another drive...one of my cd drives. I have 500 watt powersupply...I also have 12 lighted case fans... (18x18x18 cube case)
    I don't know. My friend said power might be an issue.
    Last edited by J ROD; 11-24-2004 at 03:48 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •