dcsimg
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Windows 98 repair cd

  1. #1
    Senior Member computer_kid1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    600

    Windows 98 repair cd

    Does anyone know how i can get a repair program or disk that i can try to repair a corrupt installation of 98 with.

    It is for someone else and looks like there is something wrong with the boot part of 98. When turned on it searches cd - floppy for booting then goes to the hard-drive and says "Invalid System Disk press any key to continue." (or something like that)

    I have tried scan disk.

    Do you know of a windows 98 repair disk??

    Can i repair from the 98 setup or floppy somehow??

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    103
    you should be able to do a repair install installation with the windows cd. i have not instlled windows 98 in a long time so i will let someone else help you with that one

  3. #3
    Senior Member computer_kid1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    600
    neither have i. i thought you could, but i started the 98 setup and i didnt come across any repair option so i quited the setup.

    also i have tried to get to safe mode but i cant get that far.

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member rraehal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    3,874
    You can do a lot of repair steps with 98. First boot with the Windows 98 CD. Make sure to select the option "Start Computer with CD-ROM support" so you will get to a DOS prompt.

    From the A drive:
    Type FDISK /MBR and press enter.

    Next Type SYS C: and press enter.

    That should make the system bootable again. Simply reboot and see what the computer does.

    If 98 does not start you will need to complete Windows 98 setup. There is not a reapir feature for install, but you can simply install Windows 98 directly in the same folder as Windows is installed on the Hard Disk. It will replace any missing files and use the existing registry. It is as close to a repair as you can get with 98.
    -- Mathias

  5. #5
    Senior Member computer_kid1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    600
    cheers rraehal

    i will try that! if not reformat

  6. #6
    Senior Member computer_kid1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    600
    i have done what you said and it came up with this.

    "Your computer allready has a operating system installed, which cannot be upgraded by thris version of setup. You need to obain Windows 98 Upgrade.

    Message SU0168"


    Does this mean that the person that i am doing this for has win 98 first edition instead of SE??

    What does this mean?

    What do you suggest i do?

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,375

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member rraehal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    3,874
    Hope you can get it installed. If the MS article does not help post back. You can delete some other files that will also bypass the message.
    -- Mathias

  9. #9
    Senior Member computer_kid1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    600
    i have done what microsoft said

    until this

    NOTE: If the Setupx.w95 file is missing, extract a new copy of the Setupx.dll file from the current operating system's installation media to the Windows\System folder. For additional information about how to extract files, click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
    i tried to do this using a:\ext

    it asked me where the cabinet file is located i said - e:\win98\
    it asked me the name of the file i said - setupx.dll
    it asked me where to extract the file i said - c:\windows\system

    it then said
    ERROR: Cannot open file e:\win98\(null)

    what have i done wrong here???

  10. #10
    Senior Member computer_kid1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    600
    i checked this to check i was doing it right

    306618

  11. #11
    Senior Member computer_kid1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    600
    i have just tried another win98 cd and did the same thing

    this time it went through a long list of .cab files, when it got to the end it said "no matching files"
    Last edited by computer_kid1; 10-02-2004 at 06:18 AM.

  12. #12
    Senior Member computer_kid1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    600
    i coppied across a fresh copy of setupx.dll

    i then ran the 98 setup and it came up with the original message.

    Does this mean that the computer had win95 installed??

    I was told by the cutomer that they had win98.

    I am trying to repair this supposedly win98 setup.

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,375
    Yeah it probably does have Win95 installed.

    When a customer tells you something take it with a shovel of salt. They BS all the time and not only does this make troubleshooting protracted and intractable but the price originally quoted in no way reflects the work done or the headaches cause going up the wrong alley.

    I sometimes go to their house for a simple job then they say can you fix this, so you do, then they say can you fix this… and so on. Four hours later and I am getting a little fed up with ‘em.

  14. #14
    Ultimate Member rraehal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    3,874
    You can delete IO.SYS, COMMAND.COM from the C:\ directory and also delete HIMEM.SYS and WIN.COM from C:\WINDOWS.

    I think those four files will allow you to install 98. Just remember you can not boot from C:. You will need to boot from the 98 cd or from a floppy after deleting the files.

    You may need to change the attributes of IO.SYS. Use the command

    ATTRIB -R -S -H IO.SYS

    and you can dlete the file.
    -- Mathias

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •