Slow and jerky page scrolling; help
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Slow and jerky page scrolling; help

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Live Free or Die in NH
    Posts
    64

    Slow and jerky page scrolling; help

    I built this PC over the weekend and got most of it squared away but this video problem.

    XP2700+
    256MB PC2100
    XP Pro, Svc Pk1 and all other updates
    Originally a Compaq Presidio MB made by FIC, It is labled as their AM37 model.

    Built in VIA 32M AGP video

    Sys says everything working properly.

    Display Properties wont show any adapter info BUT I can select 1024x768 at 32 bit no problem so something is installed.

    Device Manager says the PCI VGA is not installed. Im guessing this is normal with on board AGP video? It also shows USB not installed but that works fine.

    Is their something in BIOS to check? I have the latest FIC XP mobo drivers but havent tried them as I cant find what or what Rev is already there???

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member Rocketmech's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas
    Posts
    5,739
    I think you need the Compaq drivers. It will be helpful to know the model/serial number of the system it was removed from.
    You might try MS Windows Update , it might list a driver.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Live Free or Die in NH
    Posts
    64
    I went to the HP site but got a run around looking for drivers.

    I did load AM37 board drivers direct from the mobo mfg site (FIC)
    Havent tried installing yet.

    Compaq Presario Model 6330US
    Product # DA203A-ABA
    Award Bios Rev 3.20 8/1/03
    Not sure where to find the serial, there are several barcode stickers on the mobo.

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member Rocketmech's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas
    Posts
    5,739
    Theres a conflict with your info...

    FIC AM37 is an AMD mobo , the Compaq 6330US is a Intel P4 system. Are you sure its a Compaq mobo ?

    http://www.fic.com.tw/product/mother...x?model_id=107
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/s...&dlc=en&os=228

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Live Free or Die in NH
    Posts
    64
    That was one of the things that got me confused on the Compaq site.

    Here is the boot info:

    Award Bios V6.00PG

    Copyright 2003 by HP
    REV AM37320

    KM266-8235-6A6LVF0BC-00

    Also I got this either from FIC or HP, forget which:

    Compaq Presario 061
    Model DK216A-ABA S4120WM NA210

    Any help??

  6. #6
    Senior Member joeyroland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    On the Short Bus
    Posts
    538
    Go to the Run Command Box and type in DXDIAG and select Run. See what happens when you click on the Display Tab.

    That should hopefully tell you the chipset you are working with. Also, while there, I "think" you can see your USB options under input.

    Good Luck!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Live Free or Die in NH
    Posts
    64
    Its fixed.

    Used Aida 32 to ID the video. Turns out to be S3 Pro Savage DDR.

    DL'ed from the S3 site and it works fine.

    Didnt have a USB problem, that came up OK right off.
    I only use that for my Kodak camera.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •