dcsimg
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Sell my 2500 Barton and go Mobile?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224

    Sell my 2500 Barton and go Mobile?

    I have about a year old Barton. Great, great little chip.

    Been at 11X 200 since day one, never a squeak, pip, etc.

    But...A buddy of mine will buy it for 50 bucks.

    I'm thinking of buying the Mobile 2500, which can be had at Newegg for 90 bucks.

    Do I need more performance? NO.

    But...it would be nice to have the headroom and a cooler running chip, since it's designed to run at 1.45 V Core.

    I'm sure I could push it to 2.2 to 2.4 GHz levels, with 1.65 Vcore...
    My current Barton wants 1.75 VCore to run at 2.2GHz..

    Thoughts...anyone?

    Voice of reason??

  2. #2
    Member suprsheep2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Appleton, WI
    Posts
    298
    I just got the 2600 mobile from newegg and I will be pushing 2.6Ghz on it as soon as I get a new hs/f, I'd say go for it, you can easily get 2.4 out of them without trying at all.
    AMD Athlon 2100+ @ 2.3Ghz
    Abit NF7-S v2.0
    512MB Hyper-x Dual Channel
    Radeon 9500 softmod 128MB
    3dmark 2001se - 18093

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member The Lodge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Crumbling American Empire
    Posts
    1,844
    Do it. Save yourself some cash and get the 2400 mobile. Same core as the 2500 and 2600 (Barton). It will be worth the 27 buck investment.

  4. #4
    Ohio State r0x0rz! bob05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Nati'
    Posts
    3,414
    To be honest, I think you should just keep your current CPU. You said yourself you don't need the performance, not to mention you can save that money for other things (i.e. a brain since that's not standard equipment for you Michiganders ). But seriously, if you fine with what you got, keep it.

  5. #5
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    Well...as I said, I can get it for cheap, once I sell the old.

    The really appealing point it running it at 2.2 or 2.4, lower volts, and cooler temp.

    It's getting to be warmer here...and my main goal is not the performance...rather the cooler temps!!

    Not that I worry bout that now, but...just a little more piece of mine.

    (Bob...us Michigan folk force ourselves to be dumb, so we can understand you. We have to bring ourselves down to your level...)


  6. #6
    Senior Member Benssax's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    AL,USA
    Posts
    909
    My barton is at 1.82 volts and 2.33ghz and the SLK-900A isn't even hot at all. Using AS5 and a temp of 36 C idle.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Happy Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    825
    If you realy want to overclock, I would say go for it, if overclocking is not a priority, then why mess with success?
    "If it ain't broke, don't fix it."
    Enjoy!

  8. #8
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    2.2 @ 1.75 V, barely gets to 40C, 42 or so fully loaded.

    But, the headroom for more would be nice...

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member Someone Stupid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    3,133
    I have an AAUIB which is running at 1.95 for 2300... was running at 2.1 for the same speed when I first got it. That was an early 2500, and a notoriously bad OC'er. Anything at 1.85 and lower generally is considered safe, so I'd say you have some headroom easily. AMDs tolerate voltage a lot more than Intels - long as I stay under 65 load I never crash.

  10. #10
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    I don't think my Asus will volt about 1.85...which, I've tried...

    My chip's max seems to be right at 2200...

    I've got Crucial, too...PC3200.

    I've tried just about every setting, upping the RAM VDImm...etc.

    It's happy, stable, and cool...but, a little cooler would be nice...just for mind set.

    My CPU has never seen 50C, most I've seen, when I first got it, is 48C...

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member Someone Stupid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    3,133
    Even if you get it to 2.6 on air that is only a bit more than a 10% improvement... just ask yourself if it is worth it. Your running at a "low" overvolt with safe temps. If just going for cooler temps, the stock cooler is designed to keep it within the range your running, so you seem more than safe. I'd stick with what you have IMO. But it's your cash, so don't let me stop you.

  12. #12
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    Oh no...my Vantec Aeroflow has graced this baby a month since assembled.

    You know....SS, I think I may just save the money and hold off...

    This PC does more than I need to do...and it is a rock, I tell ya!

    Thanks for being the voice of reason...


  13. #13
    Ultimate Member bblqj78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,187
    dajogejr....i had the same kinda thought a few weeks back....replace my barton 2800 @ 2.3Ghz for a mobile and maybe make 2.5-2.6Ghz for very little cash. I have decided to not bother....like you say I dont need much more CPU power for the moment....and given the choice I would rather upgrade to a AMD 64 3200 or more. I'm gonna just wait 5-6 months till I see how the 64 bits go and then maybe upgrade then.

  14. #14
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    Oh, good point, BB.
    That 64 looks tasty, but...too rich for my pockets...

    But...maybe in 6 months or so. I love the on die memory controllers!!

  15. #15
    Ultimate Member The Lodge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Crumbling American Empire
    Posts
    1,844
    Originally posted by dajogejr
    But...maybe in 6 months or so. I love the on die memory controllers!!
    Just remember with the FX64 line you'll have to get new ram also. 77 dollars for a mobile 2400 minus 50 you'll get for your 2500 equals 27 beans. Is that to much to pay for a 300MHz increase and cooler\equal temps? Thatís like going from a 2500+ to a 3000+ for 27 bucks. Increase the life of your rig for a minimal cash investment. Itíll be the last cpu your current rig sees. So your computer will be maxed to its fullest potential.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •