dcsimg
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: OC Temps

  1. #1
    Member Jerukoth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    36

    OC Temps

    My new Abit nf7 has an AMD Barton 2500+ running at 3200+ speed. 200 MHZ FSB at the 11 Mulitplier.

    It is idling at 52-53c and under load, it does not change..... Is 53c too high, or just fine for an OC?

    It is in a room that sits at around 65-70 degrees (f)

    Copper heatsink, vantek thermal paste, and 4800rpm fan, not sure the brand....

    Why does it not go up after running CPU intensive programs and games?

    I had to bump up the VCore to 1.725 to get it stable.

    Thanks to all who reccommended this board, it DOES kick @$$!!

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member The Lodge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Crumbling American Empire
    Posts
    1,844
    You might want to reseat your hsf. Also make sure it's on the right way. What kind of hsf are you using? Those temps are a little high. Make sure to put the thermal paste on very light. Don't just glob it on.

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member bblqj78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,187
    52-53 is a bit high when idle...definitely check out the HS. Whats the case temps?
    I got same board...with 2800....its a sweet combo!

  4. #4
    Member Jerukoth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    36
    Case temps are at 30c

    I will re-seat the HS, and I have a new case on the way with 2 more fans in it....

    Oh, and it rebooted itself once while printing a document, is that a sign that it needs a little more on the Vcore? It's at 7.25 now.

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member The Lodge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Crumbling American Empire
    Posts
    1,844
    Originally posted by Jerukoth
    Oh, and it rebooted itself once while printing a document, is that a sign that it needs a little more on the Vcore? It's at 7.25 now.
    It's also a sign of a heat problem.

  6. #6
    Member Jerukoth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    36
    It's not heat... It's running at 43-47 now ????

    I wonder why it went down, nothing has changed in the room.

  7. #7
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    Originally posted by Jerukoth
    Case temps are at 30c

    I will re-seat the HS, and I have a new case on the way with 2 more fans in it....

    Oh, and it rebooted itself once while printing a document, is that a sign that it needs a little more on the Vcore? It's at 7.25 now.

    I think you mean 1.725 VCore volts.

    If you figured out a way to get 7.25 volts to that baby, without melting the house down...let us know...

    Seriously...printing really isn't a strain on it, unless you're printing photos or other graphics so, you might want to check for clean power....or a surge protector, etc.

    Ok...have you run memtest on it? if not...go to www.memtest86.com, download it, and boot from it. A good half hour to hour should be sufficient. No errors should pop up at all.

    By the way, where are you getting your temps from? BIOS or a software program??

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •