dcsimg
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Baffled with copy created with CDClone!

  1. #1
    Member Starman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    48

    Baffled with copy created with CDClone!

    Hi, peeps.

    Question: When I created a back-up copy of a game using CDClone, the copy works fine in the computer (desktop) that I used to burn it, but why won't it work in my laptop? The original game works in both.
    Does the program of CDClone have to be installed on the laptop to read the disk? I don't know, I just thought it was a 1:1 copy!


    Thanks in advance.

    Starman

  2. #2
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Your laptop CD drive may not be able to read CDR disks or you may have used a CDRW disk by mistake.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  3. #3
    Member Starman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    48
    Thanks Bill.
    The laptop Cd drive reads other games disks and the disks I use are not cdrw. The other games are copied on the same type of disks and work on the laptop ok.

    Still baffled!!!

    Starman

  4. #4
    Senior Member Picard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    509
    This sounds like copy protection doing its job. CloneCD, not cdclone, is the only software I know that can do bit for bit copies of copy protected cds.

  5. #5
    Gone
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5,713
    Test it for Copy protection. Use clonecd but make image file only.....ain't this in the "grey" area of legal though. Looks over shoulder
    Last edited by rmanet; 11-16-2003 at 12:57 PM.

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member rmanet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Sunny San Diego
    Posts
    2,653
    sure is so let's stop going there please - sorry Gamer, but a partial edit is in order

    in short, it's common for copies burned with clonecd to work only in the system used to burn the copy, and it's hit and miss if you try the copy in other systems

  7. #7
    Senior Member BuildItYourself's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    mmmmm, donuts....
    Posts
    822
    other media?

  8. #8
    Member Starman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    48
    Hey...would ya credit it?
    I reloaded the game with original disk, and the thing works on the laptop.
    Problem now is the cd reader crashes the system on the desktop when using the copy, after about half an hours use. It could be the cheap media I have been using, but I don't know what the best (cheaper end) media is, for good writing?
    I did notice that some of my music cd's on the same media, don't read some tracks, in the middle of the disk, yet a normal portable cd player reads them all no prob!
    Thanks for all the help.

    Starman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •