Thread: Rise of Nations question

Rise of Nations question

I am very new to Rise of Nations, and I must say that I'm a bit overwhelmed with all of the choices and game depth. I was hoping that you all could shed some light and help me out.

My question is: What is your favorite nation to use and why?

I have only used the Romans, so I have no idea if they are good, if they suck, or how they compare. Please help!

Thanks.

There is a good website on it.

After you play for a few times you get used to the speed because the ages come up fast.

I mostly play against computer maybe 2 or 3 of them. You can't let them get too far ahead of you or at all because once they get modern rocket launchers it can be a real pain because there is the unit add that makes instant units. If you are the first to get modern or even just tanks in general get them and artillery together.

Usually I build towns toward the middle nad build defenses there since they will typicallly go for middle. Then I can have the rest behind it secure for more towns and such. If you dont build towards the middle the other ppl will and you will end up being screwed nad built into your little corner.

Build all the addons in all your towns, you need markets, libraries, universities, etc in every town. You want to upgrade the fastest and you want the most resources because later on when you are spittin units our it can get nuts. That way also you can upgrade at more than one place at a time. Also mine all you can because you really need it and food later on as well as oil.

Also when you get later on in the game get a wonder in every city and surround them with AA guns. The enemy computer always seems to go for your wonders.

Believe it or not i play as the french. I like some of their bonuses with calvalry and I like how the supply wagon heals your troops and some of their bonuses like a free lumber mill. There were some other countries that I found were pretty good as well.