dcsimg
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Bink Video files and overclocking

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631

    Bink Video files and overclocking

    Hmmmn, has anyone else noticed this or is it just me? On heavily overclocked systems, even those proven stable by the lieks of Prime95, i find that Bink Video files have a lot of 'green dot' artifacts in them the only workaround ive found for gettign rid of these dots is to up the vcore or drop the overclocking a few Mhz. However these measures seem odd to me when stability tests report back a-ok on intensive stress tests... has anyone else come across this or am i just seeing things again

    --Jakk

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member ComPooTer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Concord, California
    Posts
    1,252
    just like the white dots in 3dmark jakk?


    im not sure i have to overclock my 9600 pro again to see, because i overclock then i drop back down to stock because i dont need overclocking right now until half-life 2 and doom3 come out

    ill tell ya wut happens cuz i got like all the bink videos saved on my desktop

  3. #3
    Hired Geek fishybawb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,371
    Nope, not an issue for me - my XP2400 is at 2350MHz at the mo... It sounds much more like a problem you'd come across ocing a video card, but since upping the VCore fixes it, I'm stumped

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member ComPooTer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Concord, California
    Posts
    1,252
    or maybe its a combination of both who knows?

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    3,922
    See, this is a problem. It means your processor is prime stable and not CPUBurn stable. I recommend it, but no one seems to care.

  6. #6
    Hired Geek fishybawb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,371
    Originally posted by causticVapor
    See, this is a problem. It means your processor is prime stable and not CPUBurn stable. I recommend it, but no one seems to care.
    Don't worry cV, *I* listen to you I use CPUBurn all the time - nothing like it for maxing those temps out.

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Hmmn, 1.85V Vcore and all's gone...wierd

    --Jakk

  8. #8
    Hired Geek fishybawb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,371
    Originally posted by Bigjakkstaffa
    Hmmn, 1.85V Vcore and all's gone...wierd

    --Jakk
    That follows cV's theory...

  9. #9
    Member DaveLeclerc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    LEFT coast, sacramento
    Posts
    296
    Hey Jakk,
    You ever run CPUBurn?
    Just curious for sh*ts and giggles.

  10. #10
    Hired Geek fishybawb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,371
    Originally posted by DaveLeclerc
    Hey Jakk,
    You ever run CPUBurn?
    Just curious for sh*ts and giggles.
    I'd say not, considering the problem he experienced.

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    It holds up to CPUBurn

    Mind you, its funny watching the temp sensor rise while its running, it got up to 60C then i crapped myself and stopped the program

    --Jakk

  12. #12
    Member DaveLeclerc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    LEFT coast, sacramento
    Posts
    296
    I'll give you a dollar to let it run all night.

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member ComPooTer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Concord, California
    Posts
    1,252
    id do it for 50 cents

  14. #14
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Thankg god for thermal throttling/protection

    --Jakk

  15. #15
    Hired Geek fishybawb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,371
    Originally posted by Bigjakkstaffa
    It holds up to CPUBurn

    Mind you, its funny watching the temp sensor rise while its running, it got up to 60C then i crapped myself and stopped the program

    --Jakk
    Yeah, it's great isn't it? Mine hits 60C too - I'm tempted to leave it just to see if the CPU throttling works...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •