dcsimg
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 1.8 celeron to Penitum 4 2.4 is it worth $180

  1. #1
    Member cnn7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa
    Posts
    365

    1.8 celeron to Penitum 4 2.4 is it worth $180

    hey i'm wondering is there a big differents from the 1.8 celeron to a P4 2.4 cpu. 533 FSB. have about 512 Sdram in the units. GF2 card. don't want to waste money if there is something else that would do me more good then changing the cpu's, I can't go over 400/533 FSB in these. they play tons of games. Thanks

  2. #2
    Ohio State r0x0rz! bob05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Nati'
    Posts
    3,414

    Re: 1.8 celeron to Penitum 4 2.4 is it worth $180

    Originally posted by cnn7
    hey i'm wondering is there a big differents from the 1.8 celeron to a P4 2.4 cpu. 533 FSB. have about 512 Sdram in the units. GF2 card. don't want to waste money if there is something else that would do me more good then changing the cpu's, I can't go over 400/533 FSB in these. they play tons of games. Thanks
    I really think you gotta upgrade that video card. I am using a Geforce 2 MX 200 PCI right now and it is suffering with Direct X 9 games. That would be my first upgrade. Now your going to hear EVERYONE here at Sysopt recomending a Radeon 9600 Pro. But If they were playing games just fine on a Geforce 2, then I think a Geforce 4 Ti 4200 8x will be just the ticket for them. http://www.amamax.com/intogetiti42.html

    Then with the $80 dollars you saved by not getting a 9600 Pro, you can buy a two 512 meg sticks of Sdram or even a Celeron 2.4 ghz.

    That's what I would do.

  3. #3
    Member cnn7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa
    Posts
    365
    ok how about this, I can get 2 cpu's 2.6 GHz P4 for $290 since I have 2 computers to do. and thats through Ebay. I also see some Geforce 4 cards on there, but not a very good selection. I could wait. But I'm surprised you said the video cards. There's do seem to run slower then my P4 1.8. for some reason. maybe it's all the junk they have on them. Mine only can run up to 400 fsb where theres can go up to 533 fsb. dose the video cards play a roll in games running slower ?

    I was thinking of giving mine to my daughter to replace her 533 ghz and buy me a newer one, sounds like a good ideal to me. Just have to pass it by the old lady. maybe a little on her **** would help my case, think so

  4. #4
    Ohio State r0x0rz! bob05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Nati'
    Posts
    3,414
    Originally posted by cnn7
    ok how about this, I can get 2 cpu's 2.6 GHz P4 for $290 since I have 2 computers to do. and thats through Ebay. I also see some Geforce 4 cards on there, but not a very good selection. I could wait. But I'm surprised you said the video cards. There's do seem to run slower then my P4 1.8. for some reason. maybe it's all the junk they have on them. Mine only can run up to 400 fsb where theres can go up to 533 fsb. dose the video cards play a roll in games running slower ?

    I was thinking of giving mine to my daughter to replace her 533 ghz and buy me a newer one, sounds like a good ideal to me. Just have to pass it by the old lady. maybe a little on her **** would help my case, think so
    Video cards play a very massive role in games. That's really what a huge amount of visual game information is processed. What games are you playing? If they are any 3D intensive games like Unreal 2003 then a good video card is very important. All the effects you see in games, from shawdows to pixel shading are all processed by your video card. I would seriously look into upgrading that video card to at least a Geforce 3 Ti 500 to 4 first. You will see a bigger peroformance hike with that rather than a CPU upgrade.

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member Magua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Cape Cod, Mass
    Posts
    1,609
    A new video card would improve your gaming performance much more then upgrading the CPU.

  6. #6
    Member cnn7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa
    Posts
    365
    Hey another question. My books said all my computers have 1 4x AGP slot, Can I still put a video card that has 8X AGP in that slot ? or dose it have to be a 4X ??

  7. #7
    Ohio State r0x0rz! bob05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Nati'
    Posts
    3,414
    Originally posted by cnn7
    Hey another question. My books said all my computers have 1 4x AGP slot, Can I still put a video card that has 8X AGP in that slot ? or dose it have to be a 4X ??
    An AGP 8x card will work and an AGP 4x slot if both the slot and the card use 1.5 V Signaling. Many AGP 8x cards can use both the old 3.3 V Signalling and the newer 1.5 V signaling. If the card was incompatiable with the board, it should not be able to fit in the slot becasuse of different keys. Look here for more information: http://www.ati.com/support/faq/agpchart.html


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •