dcsimg
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: delay in my gaming

  1. #1
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725

    delay in my gaming

    Hi all,

    Here's another question i have with regard to Counterstrike...with my TI 4600, when i crank up the visual effects (texture sharpening enabled, image settings to quality, AA to 4XS, Ansiotropic to 8X), something very interesting happens....

    ...say i'm in the game, and i move the mouse quickly to once side to turn the character's head...it takes a half a second before i see the head movement on the screen...say i fire the gun, again, it takes a half a second to display the gunshot...the audio of the gunshot comes up right away, but all the video display with respect to my keyboard/mouse inputs is a half a second slow!

    I would think that if the vid card coudln't handle the rendering, it would run low fps, not run delayed...the framerate seems fine, just everything is delayed...does any of this make sense? let me know, thanks again
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member mobo57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    In a So Cal Tube
    Posts
    1,971
    Doesn't sound like your vid card. What is your system specs?
    Profanity: a weak mind trying to express itself forcibly.
    http://www.thegopnet.com

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member ComPooTer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Concord, California
    Posts
    1,252
    that happened to me also, you must be playing on D3D go to openGL mode and it will go away, otherwise turn off mouse filtering and u should be ok

  4. #4
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    system specs:

    2700+
    768 RAM
    TI 4600
    Gigabyte K7-Triton Ultra KT400
    140 GB HDD
    Integrated AC'97 Audio

    When i try to run Counterstrike in OpenGL, the game will not load...i wonder why??
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member MadPistol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    In your thoughts, or AL
    Posts
    1,359
    hmmmmm well that's definately peculiar... I did the same thing to my Ti 4200 128mb card, and there was no delay anywhere in the game. You might need to reinstall the game to make sure that none of the data packets have gotten corrupted... one code out of place and the entire program screws up!

    What ever happened to the good ole days of pong when life was simple? LOL!

  6. #6
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    compooter, madpistol,

    after a reboot, i was able to open counterstrike in OpenGL...it seems to run stable...for now...lol thank for the advice once again all
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •