dcsimg
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 41

Thread: Bought a new Western Digital or IBM drive? Read this!

  1. #1
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522

    Bought a new Western Digital or IBM drive? Read this!

    WD and IBM/Hitachi drives have specific jumpering for installations with and without slave drives.

    Western Digital




    IBM/Hitachi



    Best practice these days is to just use Cable Select on all drives.

    Originally posted by 2penguins
    Only one more thing, the Master/slave plug locations [on older 40-wire cables] are reversed from 80-conductor cables. Master will be the middle plug and slave will be on the end [80-wire cables make the end drive master].
    Last edited by BipolarBill; 09-19-2003 at 03:20 AM.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2
    For a good explanation of cable select see

    http://www.firmware.com/support/bios/cablesel.htm

  3. #3
    Gone
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5,713
    "Best practice these days is to just use Cable Select on all drives."

    A rule I live and istall IDE devices by!
    Seriously its litterally PnP for IDE. And any newer mobo of the past, what- 4 years. Supports CS. So why not use it?

  4. #4
    Member 2penguins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Amongst the yobbs.
    Posts
    383
    If you happen to be using an older 40-conductor IDE/ATA cables , then you can not use cable select. If you do it will set both IDE devices to master and cause a conflict.

    There are 40-conductor IDE/ATA cables available and if you use the link Clive Burns posted you will find out how to identify them.

    Only one more thing, the Master/slave plug locations are reversed from 80-conductor cables. Master will be the middle plug and slave will be on the end.

  5. #5
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Originally posted by 2penguins
    Only one more thing, the Master/slave plug locations are reversed from 80-conductor cables. Master will be the middle plug and slave will be on the end.
    Huh? Who told you that?
    MS MCP, MCSE

  6. #6
    Member 2penguins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Amongst the yobbs.
    Posts
    383
    I know because I had one.




    Went and found this to back up what I said....
    http://forum.seagate.com/SERVICE/Ema...4?OpenDocument
    Last edited by 2penguins; 05-10-2003 at 09:21 AM.

  7. #7
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Amazing - you learn something new every day!
    MS MCP, MCSE

  8. #8
    Member 2penguins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Amongst the yobbs.
    Posts
    383
    Bill, there's another 40 conductor cable select enabled cable that has the master plug at one end and the Slave at the other.

    The controller plug was in the middle.

    I've never seen one, just read about them.

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Augsburg, Germany
    Posts
    5,910
    Originally posted by $1500-P4 gamer
    "Best practice these days is to just use Cable Select on all drives."

    A rule I live and istall IDE devices by!
    Seriously its litterally PnP for IDE. And any newer mobo of the past, what- 4 years. Supports CS. So why not use it?
    Cable Select is not something the mainboard needs to support. It's entirely between the cable and the drive. So what you actually need for CS is a CS-enabled IDE cable. Current 80-wire cables practically have to be; while with the older 40-wire flavor this feature is rarely seen outside major brand boxes.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6
    Added a second WD HD on a 40 pin cable. Had to jumper the new drive as slave instead of CS because it did cause a conflict with the old one. Received an error message upon boot up saying that I had no HDs installed at all.

    Left old WD drive jumpered as CS, new one as Slave and then booted up w/o any problems. Might also have happened as this is a Compaq with a Bios dating from 9/1999

  11. #11
    Member 2penguins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Amongst the yobbs.
    Posts
    383
    Diana01,
    Most 40 conductor cables are not cable select enabled. When you set the drive to CS then the cable will set the drive as master.

    If you set both drives to CS then you've really set them both to master.

  12. #12
    Member Snix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    216
    Good observation there, Bill. Maybe make this thread a sticky.

  13. #13
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Originally posted by Snix
    Maybe make this thread a sticky.
    Hmmm - I thought it was already.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  14. #14
    Member daniel_h23_2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    31

    The differences?

    Using Cable Select with the standard 40-pin ATA ribbon cable configures the drive connected to the middle connector as the Master drive and the end connector as the Slave.


    Using Cable Select with the 40-pin/80-conductor cable configures the drive connected to the end connector as the Master and the middle connector as Slave.


    40-pin ATA ribbon cable and 40-pin/80-conductor cable???


    is ATA ribbon cable the thick wired cable and the 80 conductor cable is thin wired and has more wires than ATA ribbon cable?

    And what do cd roms use? like dvd rom and cd rw
    Because my cdrom and cdrw are connected by think wired cables which i think is 80 conductor cable... Did i do anything wrong?

  15. #15
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522

    Re: The differences?

    Originally posted by daniel_h23_2000
    is ATA ribbon cable the thick wired cable and the 80 conductor cable is thin wired and has more wires than ATA ribbon cable?
    The thicker cable with fewer wires is the older 40-wire cable. It won't hold position when you bend it. The thinner cable that holds where you bend it is 80-pin. They are both ATA.

    You can use whatever you like on CD drives.
    MS MCP, MCSE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •