dcsimg
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: stuck at multiplier

  1. #1
    Member aDivXLoVe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    63

    stuck at multiplier

    Currently I am tweaking my new xp 2100 t-bred. I must say untill now it has gone quite easy, and i don t really get why i get stuck now.
    Increasing the FSB went quit well lowering the multiplier to 11,5 I went to 194 Mhz without hesitation. And just stopped there to c how far the multiplier would go. Though I can t increase the multiplier as It will hang quite soon, even when I lower FSB again.

    What will be the best thing to do?
    1) Go back to 11,5 and c how far FSB gets ? (prob 200 I won t do the V-mod)
    2) Go back in FSB and go for 12 or 12,5 multiplier on lower fsb

    Currently @ 2231 Mhz CPU is 42 C under stress and 36 C idle
    vdimm 2,77 Volt

    I would like to reach 2400 MhZ any suggestions?

    specs:
    epox 8KRDA
    2 x pc3200 OEM
    XP 2100 t-bred aihub 0703
    80 gb wd 8mb cache
    lite-on 48 x 24 x 48
    cooling fan in fan out, northbridge additional 32 mm fan, mosfets passive cooling (though with a lot of air passing by)
    Zalman 6000 CU (thermalright 900 ordered but don t think it is even necessary)
    420 watt Levicom


  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    855
    You may just be reaching the max on the thing. My 2100+ won't do over 2300 amhz (actual mhz), stable no matter how much juice I pump to it.
    AMD Opty 165 2900 actual mhzzzzzz's
    Assrock 939dualSata

  3. #3
    Member aDivXLoVe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    63
    Fogot something, haven t touched voltage yet, could it help to change voltage on the cpu ?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    855
    Of course it helps. LOL

    If you're running that fast and haven't touched the core v. yet... you've got one hell of a chip.
    AMD Opty 165 2900 actual mhzzzzzz's
    Assrock 939dualSata

  5. #5
    Member aDivXLoVe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    63
    You might be right about the chip, though heat comes along with the voltage. 47C under pressure, glad i ordered that thermalright.

    Currently 1.725 V
    FSB 194
    multiplier 12
    2328 MhZ

    Probably with some more voltage I can get it to 12.5 and maybe FSB can go up as well, haven t seen any problems there so far.

  6. #6
    Senior Member smelanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Dartmouth NS, CAN
    Posts
    769
    Be cautious with turning up the voltage, bringing up the clock speed is one thing but when you play with voltages it becomes very easy to kill the CPU.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    855
    I don't worry about the **** temps anymore. I like to idle in the 50's. They'll take 90C.

    Put some juice to it and kick it in the ****.
    AMD Opty 165 2900 actual mhzzzzzz's
    Assrock 939dualSata

  8. #8
    Member aDivXLoVe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    63
    Well my cpu does not seem to like heating over 47 C @ 2,4 Ghz if that happens it will hang on stress. So I clocked back a little else I will have to keep the case open. I think I ll run the 2,4 GhZ quite easy when my Thermalright 900 arrives + Arctic Silver. Before that i can always o to 1,775 volt and run 11,5 * 204 =2346
    With a little more voltage and better cooling 12*200 = 2400 will do just fine.

    Though if i have to believe jcb, iI can as well increase the voltage without extra cooling. In that case its only not enough voltage for the 12* 200 setup?? (1,8 Volt) =>> would make it to around 1,95 ?? for 50C idle? That would estimated be 204 x12 = 2448
    Last edited by aDivXLoVe; 04-30-2003 at 08:05 AM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    855
    Great Clock!

    Now you'll have to test it's stablity. See if it runs your favorite games.

    BTW, my 2100 is only stable at 2.3G and it takes 2v. It idles at 50C.

    Again, great clock.
    AMD Opty 165 2900 actual mhzzzzzz's
    Assrock 939dualSata

  10. #10
    Member XtReAmTwEaKist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    408
    hey do the pin mod and get your self and extra OOMPH out of your CPU 1.86v its does wonders toobad my chipsets holding me back right now **** KT333 but the FSB can go higher then them **** nforce boards 220mhz man



    HINT WHEN DOING PIN MOD DONT DO THE WIRE WRAP GET SOME CONDUCTIVE PAINT WORKS BEST AND REVERSABLE
    Athlon XP 2100+ @ 2.24 (178X12.5)
    512Mb DDR400 (Corsair)
    80Gb WD 8Mb Cache
    Radeon 9000 Pro 128mb DDR
    MSI KT3 Ultra 2
    SB Live! Value
    Intel NIC
    2 CD-RW 8x4x32 & 2x4x24 (im cheap)

    TwEaKist

  11. #11
    Member aDivXLoVe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    63
    Originally posted by XtReAmTwEaKist
    hey do the pin mod and get your self and extra OOMPH out of your CPU 1.86v its does wonders toobad my chipsets holding me back right now **** KT333 but the FSB can go higher then them **** nforce boards 220mhz man



    HINT WHEN DOING PIN MOD DONT DO THE WIRE WRAP GET SOME CONDUCTIVE PAINT WORKS BEST AND REVERSABLE
    No no way I m gonna voltmod the mobo, just not goin into that, I have 2 left hands so I will mess up the mobo for sure

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •