dcsimg
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 22 of 22

Thread: System temp....too high?

  1. #16
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    I don't bite my nails. They are tools. They are soft enough that they won't damage anything.

    haha



    MS MCP, MCSE

  2. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Teletubby Land
    Posts
    45
    LOL nice nails!! do u cut ur nails straight across or rounded?

  3. #18
    Ultimate Member stix_kua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    My spoon is too big...
    Posts
    2,884
    Originally posted by cogburn
    Quick note-on a recent build i encountered high heat and discovered that the hardware monitor was using 97% of the cpu (athlon xp2000). pc chips m810dlu mb. Hardware monitor was sis smart guardian. Temps started at 32-35c and soon went to 50+. Global win wdk76 fan.
    My hardware monitor is PC Alert 4....it came with my MSI motherboard on the CD...It has never used more then 5% of the CPU (Athlon XP 2000+ Thoroughbred)...My temps were originally 60C...now, it goes to the fifties with windows open...
    "I'm no technical supervisor, I'm a supervising technician."
    --Homer Simpson

  4. #19
    Ultimate Member stix_kua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    My spoon is too big...
    Posts
    2,884
    Originally posted by bluemoon
    Hey man,you suppose to "plane" your heat sink before you use arctic silver,right? That will take care of the left over.

    I use Radio shack heat sink on my p3 and I found it is very helpful to put a thin copper shim between the cpu and the heat sink,sandwiched with arctic silver III
    I never use CPU shims...they can sometimes damage the core...I try to have as litle space between my CPU and heatsink as possible...
    "I'm no technical supervisor, I'm a supervising technician."
    --Homer Simpson

  5. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Central PA
    Posts
    122
    I thougt shims were supposed to help prevent one from damaging their CPU core I'm with the rest of the peeps. Scrape that icky thermal pad off and grease that pig!

  6. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    261
    The shim I use is just a flat piece of copper with no hole cut at the center for the cpu core.It is about 0.0025 inch thick so it will not damage the cpu.It would however,increase the hold down clip tension a bit,therefore tighter contact and better heat transfer.

    If you use the expensive copper heat sink,then no shims is necessary.

  7. #22
    Ultimate Member stix_kua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    My spoon is too big...
    Posts
    2,884
    I've heard that if you use the shim incorrectly (install incorrectly) that the CPU core can get severly damaged...

    I wish good HSFs weren't so expensive...
    "I'm no technical supervisor, I'm a supervising technician."
    --Homer Simpson

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •