dcsimg
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: System temp....too high?

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member stix_kua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    My spoon is too big...
    Posts
    2,884

    System temp....too high?

    Initially when I set up my Athlon XP 2000+ system, the CPU temperature was 60 C...freakin hot...Later, the temp dropped to 57 C and at times to 53 C whilst the case temp is generally between 18 and 25 C....

    Is this dangerous? The temp hasn't really incresed that much during gaming either ( i will recheck this)...

    There is one case fan doing exhaust...

    The same motherboard with a Duron 1.3 however was a mere 20 C(weird?)...

    This is a Tbred ( B. I think)...
    "I'm no technical supervisor, I'm a supervising technician."
    --Homer Simpson

  2. #2
    EX Moderator-May He Rest in Peace rangeral's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    staten is.,ny
    Posts
    4,583
    Might look into a better hs/f which is what it sounds like. Using a copper ocz heatsink with vcool and cpu 1800 is at 31c with heater on.

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member gjimene2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Texas' Asylum
    Posts
    2,762
    hopefully you didn't use radioshack's thermal grease, or your cpu will be witht he daisies.

    if you didn't use Artic Silver III, do it, it's the best

  4. #4
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Palominos run pretty hot. Quick fix - install a Vantec Aeroflow on AS3.

    Just as quick, but more expensive - switch to a T-Bred/Barton and grease liberally.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member stix_kua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    My spoon is too big...
    Posts
    2,884
    Originally posted by BipolarBill
    Palominos run pretty hot. Quick fix - install a Vantec Aeroflow on AS3.

    Just as quick, but more expensive - switch to a T-Bred/Barton and grease liberally.
    It is a Tbred....I have some Coolermaster paste laying around but I am using the pad that came with the HSF....should I remove it? How?
    "I'm no technical supervisor, I'm a supervising technician."
    --Homer Simpson

  6. #6
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Scrape it off with your fingernail, foo!
    MS MCP, MCSE

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member gjimene2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Texas' Asylum
    Posts
    2,762
    why not use Artic Silver 3?

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member stix_kua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    My spoon is too big...
    Posts
    2,884
    Originally posted by BipolarBill
    Scrape it off with your fingernail, foo!
    But the Arctic Silver site said that that leaves behind Soem deposits in the micro grooves and harms the CPU (I think this is BS)
    "I'm no technical supervisor, I'm a supervising technician."
    --Homer Simpson

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member stix_kua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    My spoon is too big...
    Posts
    2,884
    Originally posted by gjimene2
    why not use Artic Silver 3?
    What's wrong with CoolerMaster Paste?
    "I'm no technical supervisor, I'm a supervising technician."
    --Homer Simpson

  10. #10
    Member cogburn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    south dakota,usa
    Posts
    34
    Quick note-on a recent build i encountered high heat and discovered that the hardware monitor was using 97% of the cpu (athlon xp2000). pc chips m810dlu mb. Hardware monitor was sis smart guardian. Temps started at 32-35c and soon went to 50+. Global win wdk76 fan.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    261
    Hey man,you suppose to "plane" your heat sink before you use arctic silver,right? That will take care of the left over.

    I use Radio shack heat sink on my p3 and I found it is very helpful to put a thin copper shim between the cpu and the heat sink,sandwiched with arctic silver III

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member Aznmask's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    1,449
    Originally posted by BipolarBill
    Scrape it off with your fingernail, foo!
    use alcohol to scrape it off. also make sure wash hand afterward.

    Artic Silver is better than those come with COolmaster..
    Leo

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member gjimene2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Texas' Asylum
    Posts
    2,762
    Originally posted by stix_kua


    What's wrong with CoolerMaster Paste?

    I prefer Artic Silver 3

  14. #14
    Senior Member TARP2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    522

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Teletubby Land
    Posts
    45
    your mobo temp is ok....so its not a case overheat. you shoould remove the thermal pad...and i cant believe BPB told u told scrape it off with your fingernail! ahahah. use a ruler and be careful...clean it with alcohol/acetone then use AS3. are u using the Duron stock cooler for ur Tbred? haha just to make sure

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •