dcsimg
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: 333Mhz FSB - "Worth It"?

  1. #1
    Member ArtShapiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Lake Forest, CA
    Posts
    78

    333Mhz FSB - "Worth It"?

    Folks, I'm considering upgrading MBs from my current Soyo K7VTA + Athlon 1.2gigger. No particular reason other than it's been a while.

    The Epox 8RDA+, using that new NFORCE2 chipset, seems to be getting consistently positive comments, and seems like a reasonable purchase. It also OCs well, although I've rarely fooled around with overclocking.

    The AMD 2400+ seems to be a good bang for the buck CPU, as the prices start increasing rapidly beyond that point. And at roughly double my current CPUs speed, that seems like a decent choice.

    The thing that's holding me back is the fact that the very fastest AMD chips are up to the 333Mhz FSB. My question: is that a difference that is meaningful? Some improvements are noticeable, others more academic in that one doesn't really notice anything in real world use. So what's the scuttlebutt on the value of the faster FSB clocking in real life?

    Thanks for any informed opinions.

    Art

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member elroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    1,125
    Personally at this point I would wait for a little more slide in the prices and get the 2500+ with the 333FSB. Note that you will need some pretty good ram to take advantage of this FSB so you may need a board, cpu and ram. As for the difference, no it is not a lot. An example I often use is from an article I read when the 1st 1 giggers came out. It compared an 800 to a 1000. Even though this is a 25% increase, in benchmarks it was a 7% performance boost. So 1.2 to 2.4 sounds like a lot it will not be as big a jump as you might think. Likewise the 266FSB vs 333 will not be real noticeable.
    Of course this is my opinion which I'm sure many will argue with but opinions are like ..................... you know the rest.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    855
    Actually the fsb speed makes no difference. You can run a 266 chip over 400fsb. In fact guys are cutting the bridges to set the 333's back for better overclocking.

    The improvement on the Barton is the added on die cache.
    AMD Opty 165 2900 actual mhzzzzzz's
    Assrock 939dualSata

  4. #4
    My board supports 333FSB. I have a 2100XP now. I'll be waiting for the 3000+ to come down a bit.

    I guess what I am trying to say is save your pennies and have alot of patients cause it reaps rewards.

    Jump a couple of steps instead of one.

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member missiveusa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,368
    I'm also upgrading my system to the nForce2 chipset and can't decide between the XP 2400 and the XP 2500 Barton with 333 Mhz bus. From user reviews I've read, both chips OC well. I think for an extra $40 or so, the Barton core is the better choice. And DDR memory prices are low. Just another humble opinion.

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Usign that board, which automagically unlocks the XP2400+'s multipliers anyhows, you can easily hit 166FSB by droppign the multiplier some

    --Jakk

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member Giblet Plus!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Evanston, IL
    Posts
    2,821
    Buy the XP2400 and run it at 166 x 12.
    This is where my signature would go if I wasn't so lazy.

  8. #8
    Member XtReAmTwEaKist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    408
    the XP2400 doesnt operate at 2.4 my friend if it did the PR rating would be 3100+. Plus why would you want a 3000+ batron anyways? benchies proven that and extra 256kb cache only give you like a few extra FPS T-bred "b" is the best to get right now i have my 2100+ running on a 354mhz bus or (177mhz x2)

    my two cents
    TwEaKist
    Athlon XP 2100+ @ 2.24 (178X12.5)
    512Mb DDR400 (Corsair)
    80Gb WD 8Mb Cache
    Radeon 9000 Pro 128mb DDR
    MSI KT3 Ultra 2
    SB Live! Value
    Intel NIC
    2 CD-RW 8x4x32 & 2x4x24 (im cheap)

    TwEaKist

  9. #9
    have my 2100+ running on a 354mhz bus or (177mhz x2)

    my two cents
    TwEaKist


    What do you have your multiplier set at?

  10. #10
    Member XtReAmTwEaKist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    408
    12.5 which equals 2.22ghz i orderd DDR400 should be able to do a 400mzh bus at 12x which'll gimme a 2.4ghz this chips really nice
    Athlon XP 2100+ @ 2.24 (178X12.5)
    512Mb DDR400 (Corsair)
    80Gb WD 8Mb Cache
    Radeon 9000 Pro 128mb DDR
    MSI KT3 Ultra 2
    SB Live! Value
    Intel NIC
    2 CD-RW 8x4x32 & 2x4x24 (im cheap)

    TwEaKist

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bradford, NH
    Posts
    216
    I am currently running 215fsb X 2 (430FSB).
    I completely annihilate the stock 166X2 CPU's.

    You need good RAM to do it though.

    My ram is running in sync @ 430mhz DDR dual channel.

    8RDA+
    Corsair XMS 5-2-2-2
    XP2100@2365 1.80V
    VDD mod 1.87V
    Last edited by T-Bird; 03-20-2003 at 03:00 AM.
    Epox 8RDA+
    XP2100 215fsb SYNC
    Corsair XMS 3200 5-2-2-2 (430mhz)
    BB ATI 9700pro(8X)
    Maxtor diamondmax 7200 40g ATA133

  12. #12
    Member paul0660's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    222
    good 1700+, 2100+, and 2400+ cpu's will make 333 with stock multiplier on good nforce boards. I think spending more on the 333's right now might not be a good idea. All these socket A's are on the verge of being obsolete. Fast and reliable, but obsolete.

  13. #13
    Member XtReAmTwEaKist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    408
    paul0660
    good 1700+, 2100+, and 2400+ cpu's will make 333 with stock multiplier on good nforce boards
    you dont nessesairily(sp?) need an nforce board i have a KT333 board (MIS KT3 Ultra2)
    Athlon XP 2100+ @ 2.24 (178X12.5)
    512Mb DDR400 (Corsair)
    80Gb WD 8Mb Cache
    Radeon 9000 Pro 128mb DDR
    MSI KT3 Ultra 2
    SB Live! Value
    Intel NIC
    2 CD-RW 8x4x32 & 2x4x24 (im cheap)

    TwEaKist

  14. #14
    Member XtReAmTwEaKist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    408
    T-Bird

    What speed of RAM do you have?! curious
    Athlon XP 2100+ @ 2.24 (178X12.5)
    512Mb DDR400 (Corsair)
    80Gb WD 8Mb Cache
    Radeon 9000 Pro 128mb DDR
    MSI KT3 Ultra 2
    SB Live! Value
    Intel NIC
    2 CD-RW 8x4x32 & 2x4x24 (im cheap)

    TwEaKist

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bradford, NH
    Posts
    216
    3200 rated at 400mhz DDR CAS2

    XMS Platinum
    Epox 8RDA+
    XP2100 215fsb SYNC
    Corsair XMS 3200 5-2-2-2 (430mhz)
    BB ATI 9700pro(8X)
    Maxtor diamondmax 7200 40g ATA133

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •