dcsimg
Page 14 of 82 FirstFirst ... 4 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 24 64 ... LastLast
Results 196 to 210 of 1230

Thread: POST YOUR 3DMARK 2003 SCORES HERE!!!!

  1. #196
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Dandridge, Tennessee
    Posts
    774

    3D Mark 03 Score 4488

    Score=4488

    Intel P4 2.4 O/C 3131.77Mhz
    512 Meg Crucial PC2700
    ATI 9500Pro (Flash Bios 9700Pro) Core348.16 Mem 311.21

    I have every thing pretty well maxed out as far as o/c goes, and this is the best I think I can do and remain stable.

    Looks like this bench runs so much better on the ATI cards. I have been an Nvidia man until now(TNT, Geforce2, Geforce3 Ti 200). Going from the Ti 200 to the 9500 pro gave me better graphics(no jaggies), and better frame rate to boot. I have to say though, that my old Visiontec Xatasy Geforce3 Ti200 is still a good card. I was still able to run all games with it, just not quite the quality/frame rate. I wish I could afford a 9700pro or 9800pro. This bench to me looks as though it relies 75%-80% on the video card. There must be some issue with the Nvidia cards and this bench, as there is a difference in the performance on ATI/Nvidia, but I do not think it is too the extent that this bench shows.

  2. #197
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1

    3DMark 03

    What settings do you guys run the bench on? Sorry if this has already been covered

    With no AA or AF, everything set to performance:

    5336 marks

    xp2400 @ 195fsb by 12x
    2x 512 Kingmax DDR400 @ 7,3,3,2.5
    Hercules 9700np @ 340core 320mem Cat 3.4
    WinXP sp1 with DirectX 9a
    Antec 480w TruePower

    BTW - I have read that you need to update the 9700 bios to allow overclocking, however I never did this and it seems to be overclocking fine

    Luke

  3. #198
    Ultimate Member bblqj78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,187
    Roadhog.....

    How did you manage to get your chip -

    Intel P4 2.4 O/C 3131.77Mhz

    Also have a Pentium 4 2.4...but have trouble getting it over 2.75Mhz. What speed are yiou running your memery at..? What coling..?

  4. #199
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    S. Williamsport, PA.,USA
    Posts
    50
    3DMark03 - 4490

    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=1397847

    3DMark 01 SE - 14,658

    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7088266


    Edit: Latest Score updates.
    Last edited by benknobi; 10-13-2003 at 11:40 PM.

  5. #200
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Amnesiac, bench with all eye candy (AA/AF) turned off, vsync set to off and performance options at default/minimum

    --Jakk

  6. #201
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Dandridge, Tennessee
    Posts
    774

    To bblqj78

    To answer your question on how did I get my P4 to overclock that well.

    I have an Antec Case(w/Antec 430 watt p/s), with three stock fans, one in front if case that is also in front of disk drive, another also in front. The third is the one on the side blowing in on video card and mobo. Also bought two extra Antec Smart fans set to blow out the rear of the case. Then there are the two on the power supply also. This setup runs real quiet believe it or not.

    Cooling on the cpu, I bought the Thermotake(spelling), spark7/copper heatsink fan from Newegg for like $24.99 plus a few bucks shipping. The spark 7 has three options, I mounted the thermal sensor on heatsink option so it increases speed of fan depending on temp of cpu. I lucked out on the P4 2.4b and received a C1 stepping cpu(Newegg also), and I hear these are a little better over clockers then the B0 cpu's. Running at stock voltage on cpu and memory(memory btw is Crucial PC2700-1 stick). Running ASUS P4PE mobo. This was my first PC build, but used to build Mini-Computers for a living(10yrs). The multiplier(I believe that is the setting(I am sure you know what it is), was set to 174. I did get a little more since post but started re-booting at 179/3221.59mhz, even with a one notch voltage jump on cpu core and memory. Hope that helps.

  7. #202
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Dandridge, Tennessee
    Posts
    774

    To bblqj78

    BTW bblqj78 , I left the memory timings on auto. It seemed if I messed with these, it did more harm then good.

  8. #203
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    64
    Regarding the P4 2.4 to 3ghz+ overclock I think I have the answer.

    My current rig is P$ 2.4 o/c to 3.24ghz running a high fsb (around 270).
    Asus P4P800
    256mb Corsair 3500 (ddr433)
    radeon 9500 non-pro

    The hidden factor being the new P4 - 2.4c chip which now runs with 800mhz fsb and is hyper threading enabled!! It's basically a 3ghz chip in a 2.4 packaging and people in the know are making them fly off the shelves.

    3dmark 2001 score of about 13500 which isnt too bad considering i havent clocked the card yet or performed any softmods.

    I will be back with 2003 scores soon...

    btw, I also have an almost identical system running with a 9700 non-pro with full mods and clocked as far as I could, and it achieved 16200 on 2001 and just over 5000 on 2003. the topend radeons really kick ***!!

  9. #204
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Dandridge, Tennessee
    Posts
    774

    Question for dj4play

    My best score after playing around for 2003 was:4605
    That is FSB @178/3204.40mhz
    Mem v 2.6
    Core v 1.550
    Mem timings default
    9500Pro(Bios 9700pro) Core=373.50 Mem=310.50
    cpu 2.4b This is a non-hyper-threading CPU

    Push cpu any further and I got reboots.
    Push video card any further and I got static on screen.

    Even though everything seems to be running cool at these settings, I rarely these clock speeds. The only games that seems to help at these speeds is Nascar2003/Falcon 4.0. All other games I do not see any dif at all as far as frame rates(to the eye).

    My question is, do games run any faster on the hyper-threading cpus?? Also, are there any other games other then N2003/Falcon 4.0, that see any frame rate increase(or any diff in game play/to the eye)?? Any one out there with a 3 gig cpu with any overclocking figures??

    Note: I can see by the posts that the 9700 and 9700Pro are real beasts!! I just could not afford one lol--RH

  10. #205
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    3D Mark 2003
    1307

  11. #206
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    64

    Re: Question for dj4play

    4136 for 2003 which isnt too bad considering i havent got dual channel memory running yet. (only 256mb single channel)

    not sure if my softmod for my 9500 worked, but bear in mind i have the non-pro version so only 64mb ram.

    scored about 14500 on 2001 with overclocks running. core 370 mem 310.

    i think ram is slowing me down but i'll have to wait and get another stick to test out.

    hyper threading is wikid for multi tasking mainly. hard to say i've noticed the difference coz this setup is fast anyway. nothing really tests it. rendering on after effects is quick too

  12. #207
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Dandridge, Tennessee
    Posts
    774

    For dj4play

    DJ

    I was wondering about the system you said you had a 9700 non-pro??? For the 9500Pro, the bios tweak is only to unlock the clock/mem to o/c them. I think I read on a thread that it works on a 9500 non pro also-see link below for that info.

    What mobo are you using that has the dual channel memory option for Intel chips, I thought that was only available for the AMD cpu's??

    I used the warp11 bios tweak for the 9500pro, try this link if you are using something else and are in doubt. They have links to both the ATI flash, ATI bios tweak(warp11), and directions on how to do it:

    http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...eadid=33654157

    PS I did not think the tweak worked for me, I had to o/c the cpu to see an improvement in frame rate(and I did go back with o/c cpu to make sure the 9500 tweak worked, which it did), kind of says something for those ATI cards. I am sure Nvidia will come out with something soon to compete, and when they do, maybe the price will go down on the 9800Pro and I can afford one lol.

  13. #208
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    64
    i have 2 machines, one in my room, one for downstairs, with downstairs running the 9700 non pro and 9500 non-pro being in my room.

    I've installed the latest cat5 ati drivers and patched them with the wizzard .sys file. Also patched both card bios' with the ones u've mentioned. Clocking seems to work well, tested using the fill rate test on 3dmark 2001. (expect around 2000 multitexture for a standard 9700 non pro). I managed around 3000 for my 9500 so I was quite chuffed .

    This new motherboard i've got kicks ****!! It;s the asus p4p800 and supports just about everything including new 800mhz fsb (allows me to clock bus speed to about 400mhz tho so... 1600mhz quad pumped!) and will support the p5 prescott intel chips coming out later this year. Also the board supports hyper threading, dual channel ddr400, and serial ata drives. Serial ata on this board is sweet as u dont even need to load up controller drivers to install an OS fresh.

    Hopefully dual channel will make a nice 1000 or so diff (optimistic as always) to my 3dmark scores. Bandwidth is currently only about 3000mb/s according to sandra. Should be around 5000-6000mb/s with 256x2 dual channel config.

    We'll see how it goes...

  14. #209
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Dandridge, Tennessee
    Posts
    774

    DJ

    DJ

    That mobo does look sweet. I wish I had bought that one. I just put this thing together a couple weeks ago, but did not see that mobo you have at that time. I have SATA also on the ASUS P4PE that I have, but have not bought a SATA drive yet, and may be a few months before I do. How do you know if the mobo supports the P5 or not(again, I have a P4PE--and I do not know where to find that information at--I hope it does--please give me a link so I can check that one out). I was happy until I read about your mobo on the ASUS site :>( --RH

  15. #210
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    64
    hehe, it's a smart board dude. I think the support comes from the new 865ipe Intel chipset and it's that which allows compatibility with the prescott cpu. It says it there somewhere on the Asus site if u have a look around.

    The other cool thing along with SATA is that u can set up a RAID 0 or striped RAID config which basically allows u to hook up 2 hard drives and run them in parallel doubling write speeds. Saving up for my second hard drive as we speak

    Back to what you were saying about Nvidia catching up with Radeon 9800 Pro, they have basically done it with the new GeForce Fx5900, but it's a bit hefty and bit pricey. Stick with ATI

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •