dcsimg
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM busted

  1. #1
    Senior Member OpK Chowdy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    GAMER'S HELL
    Posts
    636

    Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM busted

    okay. i have a liteon 16x DVD-Rom drive that worked fine. Now, however, windows does not see it. It's recognized in the cmos (or wahtever it's called) and it's even recognized by cd-copy programs that it's there...i just can't use it. Any suggestions on how to fix this?

    Perhaps messing with the ribbon cable?

    specs:

    AMD Athlon Thunderbird 1.4ghz @ 1.55ghz
    Soyo Dragon Lite KT333
    Geforce4 Ti4200 128mb Visiontek
    258mb PC2700 DDR Samsung
    Western Digital 80gb 7200rpm 8mb
    Seagate 30gb 5400rpm
    Creative 8x4x32x CDRW
    16x Liteon DVD-ROM
    D-Link NIC
    Coolermaster Hcc-002
    Antec 400watt Powersupply
    Samsung "DynaFlat" SyncMaster 955DF 19"

    PS: I have 4 drives. 2 hard drives, 1 burner, and 1 liteon 16x drive that i am talking about.

    Any help'd be apprectiated
    ----------
    Athlon Tbird 1.4 @ 1.55Ghz
    Soyo Dragon Lite KT333
    Geforce4 ti4200 128mb by Visiontek
    256mb Samsung PC2700 DDR
    WD8000JB 7200rpm 8mb
    Seagate 30GB 5400rpm
    Windows 2000 Advanced Server

  2. #2
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Try switching roles with the burner.

    You should blow the dust out of the drive if you can - maybe use a cd drive lens cleaner.

    If those fail, it's toast, I'm afraid.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  3. #3
    Senior Member OpK Chowdy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    GAMER'S HELL
    Posts
    636
    Thanks for the reply. It's not that it doesn't work as in it won't read discs, it just doesn't appear in "My Computer." I don't know what's wrong.
    ----------
    Athlon Tbird 1.4 @ 1.55Ghz
    Soyo Dragon Lite KT333
    Geforce4 ti4200 128mb by Visiontek
    256mb Samsung PC2700 DDR
    WD8000JB 7200rpm 8mb
    Seagate 30GB 5400rpm
    Windows 2000 Advanced Server

  4. #4
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Like I said, reverse the roles between the CDR and DVD. Sometimes, just reconnecting things fixes it.

    You do know what I mean, right? Disconnect the drives and reverse their placement.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    169
    Had the same problem with my old Acer burner. Sometimes the bios got it and most of the time it did. But windows still said it was there..

    If this is the same case, you can trow it away. Cause it's broken then

  6. #6
    Senior Member OpK Chowdy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    GAMER'S HELL
    Posts
    636
    Weird. I went in my case (dusty little bugger) and i pulled out the two optical drives. I blew into the contacts to get anything outta there and i set it up correctly. I just pushed the cable in harder this time and made sure i didn't do anything wrong. I went to my bios and told it to auto detect. This time it said "NoneOn 16x DVD" something like that. where's the "None" from??
    ----------
    Athlon Tbird 1.4 @ 1.55Ghz
    Soyo Dragon Lite KT333
    Geforce4 ti4200 128mb by Visiontek
    256mb Samsung PC2700 DDR
    WD8000JB 7200rpm 8mb
    Seagate 30GB 5400rpm
    Windows 2000 Advanced Server

  7. #7
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    If it's a Lite-on, it's either mis-jumpered or failing.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member Giblet Plus!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Evanston, IL
    Posts
    2,821
    Oh uh, now I fear for my Lite-On 16x Dvd's safety.
    This is where my signature would go if I wasn't so lazy.

  9. #9
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Yeah - if your BIOS picks it up as a Rite-On drive, you know you have trouble.
    MS MCP, MCSE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •