How do clear pagefile without rebooting XP Pro?
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How do clear pagefile without rebooting XP Pro?

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member muchmark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,467

    How do clear pagefile without rebooting XP Pro?

    How do clear the pagefile without having to reboot XP Pro?

  2. #2
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,479
    You can't. Why do you want to?
    MS MCP, MCSE

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member muchmark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,467
    Here is what I've noticed if I have Photoshop 7, FrontPage 2002 and Word 2002 open Winamp 2.8 pause and skipps. After closing photoshop and frontpage it still happen I have to reboot to get Winamp playing ok again.

    ps. P4/1.68, 256 DDR

  4. #4
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    21,992
    sounds like you need more ram. if the system is hitting the pagefile that much, it's time for an upgrade.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    247
    More RAM would be a big help. You could also try increasing the page file size if you have room. Also, if you have more than one partition, moving the page file to the partition WITHOUT the OS could also increase some performance.

  6. #6
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    21,992
    moving or adding a pagefile on another partition won't help. it has to be a different physical drive.

  7. #7
    Banned Johnny Fist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    THE PICKLE FACTORY
    Posts
    2,259
    I would think moving it to a sperate partition on the same physical drive would help keep it from getting as fragmented. You know how the page file likes to expand and contract. I don't know how you would go about deleting it without rebooting goes, but i like to delete mine and reset it once in awhile just to help keep things nice and fresh. The same thing goes for my prefetch.

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member Cyan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    1,327
    well... it sounds like the dll's aren't being unloaded from the memmory - look at tweakxp.com to find out how to "tweak" the settings so that the dll's will be unloaded from memmory when you close the program.

  9. #9
    Banned Johnny Fist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    THE PICKLE FACTORY
    Posts
    2,259
    Thats going to cause problems for you in the future.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •