dcsimg
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 21 of 21

Thread: hanging

  1. #16
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305
    Ol'Tunzafun, has a point there

    i totally overlooked how little RAM he has to run winXP

    man 128 of RAM is slow already on my win98, on WinXP it must be crawling

    here's a list of the BARE minimum needed to "run"

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/h...on/sysreqs.asp

    * PC with 300 megahertz or higher processor clock speed recommended; 233 MHz minimum required (single or dual processor system);* Intel Pentium/Celeron family, or AMD K6/Athlon/Duron family, or compatible processor recommended
    * 128 megabytes (MB) of RAM or higher recommended (64 MB minimum supported; may limit performance and some features)
    * 1.5 gigabytes (GB) of available hard disk space*
    * Super VGA (800 600) or higher-resolution video adapter and monitor
    * CD-ROM or DVD drive
    * Keyboard and Microsoft Mouse or compatible pointing device

  2. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    NSW, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Well, I am glad it isn't your motherboard. Um, I don't suppose that the thing is still under warranty? That's always a good way to fix it. That is, if it is faulty hardware. Otherwise, you might just be sending it to one of the people that are helping you out on this site!
    ---=={VIRJO}==---

  3. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    16
    Operating system Microsoft windows98 Came preinstalled. Video Driver version 2890. Nvidia geforce2 gts pro 64 mb. Directx version 8.1 Memory ram 128 mb sdr. It does not seem to be crawling. Used to work great. Lockups and hangs happen when I play any kind of game Swat3, simcity 3000, sims. How do I know if there is a conflict?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #19
    Senior Member crusious31's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    cali
    Posts
    776
    So..........where did you buy this computer?

  5. #20
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305
    Originally posted by gracey
    How do I know if there is a conflict?
    you don't see, to have a Conflict
    it sounds more like you are running with too little ram

    all those games you mentioned are memory hungry

    SPECIALLY THE SIMS

    even on the newest P4 it craws....
    maybe we just have added wayy to many add ons and donwloads from the internet

  6. #21
    Ultimate Member Ol'Tunzafun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Canadian prairie
    Posts
    3,798
    I had a very stable computer with 98SE until my daughters loaded the Sims onto it. The worst part were those buggy addons that they downloaded off the net. It would freeze, hang and crash. And it had 256 Megs of RAM. The Sims are gone now and so are those problems.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •