dcsimg
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: hanging

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    16

    hanging

    Have been having some severe problems.
    I cant run any game for more than a few minutes. It just hangs. All most every game this happens. Any of you know how to solve this problem?
    2.2
    ram 128mb
    geforce gts pro
    30 gb

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    NSW, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Here are a few questions, I think you have what I had a while ago.

    (1) Is it an Aptiva?
    (2) Is it only games if hangs on?
    (3) Does your sound card cut out just before?
    (4) How new is the comp, ie has it only just started or has it happened since you got it?

    My problem was the Motherboard (Main board, to be politicaly correct <sigh>). Luckily, it was under warranty. The only advantage of buying that Aptiva. p.s. I hate Aptivas...

    Sorry, man, but if it is like I just asked, then it doesn't look good. Otherwise I can't help you. If it crashes on me, I usually aks at Sysopt... Smiley for this:
    ---=={VIRJO}==---

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    16
    No it is not an Aptiva. It hangs on all games and also while watching movies.
    The sound does not cut but I think it just freezes. The problem started a few days back. The comp is 2 weeks old.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    NSW, Australia
    Posts
    44
    What about running things other than games, like MS Word?
    On mine, I could run all of my dad's programs, but not a single game. He wasn't worried, mind you...

    But I think you may be in luck, seeing as it isn't an aptiva. And also, the sound cut out about 30 seconds before the thing crashed. Took me a while to figure out that with an ATX PSU, to turn it off you don't need to switch it off at the power point (I wasn't all that bright back then). It did give me enough warning to save my game!

    Sorry I'm not of much help, but Hardware or Programming is my area of liking...
    ---=={VIRJO}==---

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    16
    word, and other work fine.
    Only games dont work. few seconds after the game starts it hangs.

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member Ol'Tunzafun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Canadian prairie
    Posts
    3,798
    It sounds like your CPU may be getting too hot. To check this, open up your case and have a household fan blow on it. If this helps you may need to upgrade or redress your HSF with a good heatsink compound.

  7. #7
    I got pie!!! Ammok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Stoke.UK
    Posts
    4,589
    Good advice old tunes, but it could also be an overheating graphics card and would explain why it cuts out on games, but your fan suggestion should work in either case.
    Life is a bowl of cherries

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    16
    The hardware monitor says that my cpu runs at 45C.
    All game used to work fine until a few days back.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    16
    Opened the case and checked the graphics card has a fan.
    Added 2 new case fans. 1 for intake and the other for
    exhaust. The problem is still there.

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305
    Clean out the DUST !!!

    Me too, just a few days ago it was nice and below 50c during iddle, just recently it went up to 60c, after cleaning out the **** dust, it went back down to 50c

    anything below 70c is normal

    but yes it's always best to keep it as low as possible

    BTW, i'm using the Stock FAN, that's why 50/60 is normal for me


  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    16
    The card along with the comp is new. There is no dust.
    Intel pentium4 2.2

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305
    Still Dust collect in a matter of Hours

    check your HSF for accumulation

    also you can try software like

    CPU Iddle and see if that helps
    http://www.cpuidle.de/

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member vibe666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Just left of the middle
    Posts
    1,184
    what ver. of windows is it? i'm betting that it's XP Home as it's a new PC but you never know.

    maybe try updating the graphics drivers, its a gf3 isn't it? drivers that are out for it now are plenty stable so it might be something else, maybe another driver somewhere.

    check in device manager for a conflict between the graphics card or sound card and other hardware.

    i might as well ad that i'm grabbing at straws here .

    other than that, er......

    ring the ventor and tell them about the problem, they may know about it if it's something that all systems of your type suffer with and have a quick fix for it.
    ***viBe***
    "Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth."
    - Albert Einstein

  14. #14
    Ultimate Member Ol'Tunzafun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Canadian prairie
    Posts
    3,798
    Just an observation, Gracey and may not have anything to do with your present problem but if you are running XP then having only 128 megs of RAM is going to seriously drag down XP and the 2.2. XP seems to need at least 256MB to run unimpaired.
    On the other hand, if you are running ME then you will need to upgrade your video driver. http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp
    Last edited by Ol'Tunzafun; 09-24-2002 at 12:57 PM.

  15. #15
    I got pie!!! Ammok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Stoke.UK
    Posts
    4,589
    Is it still under wearranty, get the blighters out to fix it.

    Also, check you got direct x 8.1 if your not running XP.
    Life is a bowl of cherries

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •