dcsimg
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: dell Laptop with password protection

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Kentucky,"WooT"
    Posts
    173

    dell Laptop with password protection

    I have two old Dell Laptops (PII). I started to use them again but one of them wont let me past the password protection screen it must have a different password on it . Is there any thing i can do?

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305
    Ouch!

    you might want to call DELL and ask them how to Resett the CMOS in the laptops

    some needs a ROM change, some can resett

  3. #3
    Senior Member kazuza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    670
    Be carefull! Some nb have another password for hd data protection!
    I would advise you to take it to Service!

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member x51out's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Tucson AZ, 22 Dec. 2012
    Posts
    1,434
    There was a thread about a half year ago pertaining to this issue, and the solution was something like Alt-F4 or Shift-Alt-F4... dang, I wrote it down somewhere, but now I can't find it. Point is that there is a key-combo to bypass the password.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    39
    pull the batery???
    and as i am not too familar with laptops open her up and look for a batery on the board and pull that too, so that there are no power to you bios chips. then leave it sit for a min and try boooting again with a ac power adapter???

    that'll work on most comps but as i said i am not sur about a laptop
    http://scared.at/b_shill

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member x51out's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Tucson AZ, 22 Dec. 2012
    Posts
    1,434
    What? No, you'd pull the battery for a few minutes, then put it back in, THEN turn on the laptop. Taking the battery out for a few re-sets the BIOS back to factory default... at least under normal circumstances... But if you've flashed the BIOS, that is where it will be. If you want the old BIOS back, you'd have to flash with the old one again. Under BATTERY, it's meant CMOS BATTERY.
    Last edited by x51out; 09-21-2002 at 08:57 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •