dcsimg
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Ti4200 OverClocking ?? What is safe ?

  1. #1
    Member Tditty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    53

    Ti4200 OverClocking ?? What is safe ?

    Currently my Core Clock speed is 250mhz, and my Memory Clock speed is 513mhz.. What would be safe to clock to??


    Gainward Geforce 4 Ti-4200 64mb

  2. #2
    Evil Lurks NDD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Inner Mongolia
    Posts
    6,576
    Till it burns out
    And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers

  3. #3
    Senior Member AlexGee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    604
    I got the same card, I get my core clock up to 300 with borderline stability, I can clock up the memory too but this doesn't seem to make much difference on benchmarks. Like ND said push it up gradually till it starts to crash. You won't hurt it that way.

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member missiveusa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,368
    I also have the same card. I can OC to 300/ 570 MHz, but I run it at 275/550 MHz. It's the memory speed that's important, and where you'll hit your limit.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    978
    I have a Leadtek 4200 64mb, core at 290mhz, memory at 600mhz.

    Your core should easily do 275mhz, and your memory should easily do 550mhz. Pump them up to there, ensure it is stable, and then start taking the core up 5mhz at a time and the memory 10mhz at a time. If you get lockups, then the core is probably too high. If you get funny marks on the screen, then the memory is probably too high. Back either/both down accordingly, and try again.

    Test it after each step with 3dmark 2001se.

    --Rich

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    memory on my 64mb 3.6ns ti4200 from MSI will do 620 RAM ant the mo its at 600 and core is at 275 although i reckon it can go higher...but i aint seen the need to yet...

    --Jakk

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Recife, PE - BRAZIL
    Posts
    47
    back to the days of GeForce256 around here, I've heard some reports of some cards frying memory out and being permanently damaged.

    I have a GeForce 4 MX440, and it is running stable @ 320 MHz core, 420 MHz memory (default is 270 core, 400 mem).

    I would like to know if I push it to it's limits will I have a fried video card in some weeks ?

    It's a MSI with that awful fancy cooler. But I placed 2 80mm fans just on top of it...

    http://www.rmc.eti.br/documentos/art.../fan_video.jpg

    Complete setup:

    http://www.rmc.eti.br/pc.htm

    I know that there is a risk involved, but is that too risky ? The card memory is 5ns blergh
    StealthNet.

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    As long as you donty go silly and jump straigt to 700Mhz without proper step by step o/c and testing then yes... however if you do it properly an o/c card should last 3 years minimum, by which time you should really have upgraded it (especially a yucky gf4mx)

    --Jakk

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Recife, PE - BRAZIL
    Posts
    47
    To tell you the truth I'm currently search for a Ti4600, but this one is simply not available around here...

    But thanks, that's enough for me I'll get that rivatuner sliders higher
    StealthNet.

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Good...slowly but surely though - 10Mhz at a time run a game/3d mark.. and repaet until errors/visual deficiencies occur...then drop down 10 or 15mhz

    --Jakk

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Recife, PE - BRAZIL
    Posts
    47
    man I think that the rivatuner slider is broken. That's not possible... I've already reached 340 MHz core and 500 MHz memory stable... Let's keep going...
    StealthNet.

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631



    KABOOOOOM!!



    ...dont push it too hard though ...

    --Jakk

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Recife, PE - BRAZIL
    Posts
    47
    Core @ 350 MHz (33% inrease)
    Mem @ 520 MHz (33% increase)

    I think that the mem does support more, but I will not fry the memory chips, since they do not have proper cooling.

    The gpu got unstable with a clock higher than 350 MHz. It does work, but the image gets corrupted.

    Now I can play CS @ 1600 x 1200 x 32 bit even if someone drops a lag grenade

    but I have a question: using such high frequencies will force the video card even when 2D (desktop for example) ?
    StealthNet.

  14. #14
    Senior Member OpK Chowdy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    GAMER'S HELL
    Posts
    636
    I have a Geforce4Ti4200 128mb by visiontek. default is 250/444.

    I can get it up to 300/550 before i see any visual artifacts or instability. really nice cards, the ti4200s, with some ramsinks i hope to get it a bit higher...
    ----------
    Athlon Tbird 1.4 @ 1.55Ghz
    Soyo Dragon Lite KT333
    Geforce4 ti4200 128mb by Visiontek
    256mb Samsung PC2700 DDR
    WD8000JB 7200rpm 8mb
    Seagate 30GB 5400rpm
    Windows 2000 Advanced Server

  15. #15
    Ultimate Member Giblet Plus!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Evanston, IL
    Posts
    2,821
    My MSI ti4200 ran 300 core and 600 memory stable enough for an artifact-free 3dmark2001SE score of 10,625 on my xp2000.

    and it's red like the gainward ti4200!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •