dcsimg
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Celeron 633

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    36

    Celeron 633

    What would this be equvilent to if u compared it to a PIII....
    633 Celeron = PIII ???
    800 Celeron = PIII ???
    Thanks

    Enjoy the time u are having.

  2. #2
    Junior Member foxwolfen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    23

    Re: Celeron 633

    Originally posted by musictoad
    What would this be equvilent to if u compared it to a PIII....
    633 Celeron = PIII ???
    800 Celeron = PIII ???
    633 celeron = PIII 200 *cackles insanely*

    Sorry bout that...

    That depends on the application:
    Normal business computing ie typing a letter... email... webbrowsing MHZ=MHZ

    Games... 40%slower (limited by its bus)
    CAD, development, large databases etc. ... almost unusable... (relative)

    in the normal configuration all but the newest celerons suffer from poor motherboard graphics integration and a 66mhz memory bus. This makes them almost unusabale for recent games. Bypassing that and tossing in a decent vid card... it will be on par with most machines in its power range in the real world sense. ie i cant always tell 100fps from 90...can you?

    FoxW

  3. #3
    Evil Lurks NDD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Inner Mongolia
    Posts
    6,576
    I'd say something around 550MHz P3 ...
    And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member grimfandango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,669
    cel 633= p3 of 400-500

    cel 800= p3 of 550-650


    this is in menchmarks!
    like sandra 2002 .



  5. #5
    Gone
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5,713
    Well the 633/66mhz bus is a slow terd. But the CelII 800mhz/100mhz fsb IS a Pentium 3 people. It is the P3 core so its a p3 minus half the L2 cache. I have one. The new cel's kick the snott out of the originals cause they are a 100fsb P3! Mine outbenches a P3 750mhz using Sisoft Sandre so I would say a 200mhz P3 equivilant is a insult to a good chip. Its got alot more than that. All in All the cel II was to reclaim Intels low end chip over the Duron. I would still take a duron over any celII but the celII does hold its own ground and lives up to P3's quit well.

  6. #6
    Gone
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5,713
    Originally posted by grimfandango
    cel 633= p3 of 400-500

    cel 800= p3 of 550-650


    this is in menchmarks!
    like sandra 2002 .


    Look at my post. I have run sandre and a celII 800 beats a P3 750.

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member grimfandango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,669
    Originally posted by $1500-P4 gamer


    Look at my post. I have run sandre and a celII 800 beats a P3 750.

    yea you are right!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •