dcsimg
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: transferring data from one PC to another

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    19

    transferring data from one PC to another

    Hey guys. How can I transfer all the data from one hard drive to another? Can I use just the floppy drive, or do I need to use CD-RW or Zip drives?
    Do I even need a stupid sig???

  2. #2
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,252
    Floppies? No way, dude.

    if it's a one for one replacement, then i would use maxblast, drive copy, drive image, or ghost. maxblast is free, so it's worth a shot. Western digital and Seagate also have free copying tools. It's usually best to use the utility for the brand you have. I know westerndigitals tools will say "WD drive not detected".

    if not that, then use ghost or drive image to make an image, then burn it to cd.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    19
    Hmm.. where can I download maxblast? How many MB?
    Do I even need a stupid sig???

  4. #4
    Member gt_cmpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Savannah, GA
    Posts
    186
    If you need a COMPLETE copy I would use a utility like Midknyte suggested. But if you dont need it all I would install it as a second hard drive and then drag and drop the files you need. Then you can reformat it all in a few easy steps...
    good luck.
    it is always the last thing you check...

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    19
    Yeah, I'm gonna do a complete copy. But I got no $$ for a software program though. I need a free one.
    Do I even need a stupid sig???

  6. #6
    Member gt_cmpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Savannah, GA
    Posts
    186
    it is always the last thing you check...

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    19
    Ok, thanks a bunch pals. You guys were a real help.
    Do I even need a stupid sig???

  8. #8
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,252
    ack. thanks for getting the link gt. I was working. Gee, they want me to actually do work just because they are paying me. is that unfair or what? hahaha Have a good one!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •