dcsimg
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: GTA3 PROBLEM

  1. #1
    Member cloutty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    The Nidge (Herts) UK
    Posts
    146

    Sporadically slow GTA3

    Hi Folks,

    I am running Win98 SE
    Supermicro P4-SBA MOBO
    P4 1.6Ghz
    512Mb SDRAM
    Tornado Geforce 2 MMX200
    1 x 9Gb Seagate disk
    1 x 40Mb Western Digital Dsik
    Creative 8432E CDW/R
    Pioneer DVD

    and I am experiencing sporadic slow play in GTA 3,
    It does not error just slows down for a while and it
    is a real b@stard when you are in a car as you can
    not tell how fast you are going any ideas/patches
    that you know off please ?
    I have trawled the net but cannot find anything !!
    Any help would be gratefully received.
    I do also get an alrm from inside the PC occasionally
    like a UK Police car (sort of high/low/high/low tones)
    which do not seem to equate to anything in the MOBO
    manual. Could this be my video card ? I am running a
    system monitor and everything seems fine there ?????


    Cloutty

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    152
    That's very odd that your having problems like that. That game GTA 3 was pretty much made to run on Geforce and nvidia technology. Have you downloaded the latest drivers from your manafacturer?

    How many megs of video ram does your card have? One thing that really helps is setting the video options to a lower resolution. Try setting the graphics to 640 x 480 16 bit. Things should speed up and but the won't look good like the ps2 version. At best you will have really decent looking PS1 grahpics which are still very nice.

  3. #3
    Member cloutty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    The Nidge (Herts) UK
    Posts
    146
    I have the latest detonator drivers but it still is slow at times, the Geforce card has 64mb so I cannot see why I am getting these probs, I seem to be way above spec

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Its lax coding - checkout the gaming forum to read threads and threads of people grumbling about their GTA 3 chugging along, on some of the fastest rigs availiable.

    IMO its a fault in the coding etc, as my mate can run it fine on his p3 500, 384mb SDRAM gf2mx200.

    Wheras my Tbird 1.33ghz , 512mb RAM and gf4ti4200 chugs no matter what the graphical settings

    The only thing thats actually griven any realy resutl is to ENABLE the frame rate limiter, although not perfect, ths prevents frame rates from pinging about like crazy and the game runs a little more smoothly... but still - not perfect im afraid

    --Jakk
    "You don't know Jakk..."

    Windows Vista Business x64
    Hiper 580Watt PSU -- Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3L -- Intel Core2Quad 6600 -- 4GB PC6400 -- 256MB GeForce FX7800GT
    SATA-II HDD 1x500Gb/1x400GB/1x250GB-- 1x120GB ATA-100 HDD
    [/B]

  5. #5
    Gone Forever....... gibsinep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    6,527
    Well your slow down would be due to your Video card. Try lowering the game to lowest res and lowest detail and see if it works. If it does decently then it is your video card. The geforce 2 mx200 is really not that good of a gaming card, Also try updating to the latest nvidia driver. www.nvidia.com


    Also those beeps maybe an overheat warning, I dont know though that isnt very common for a P4.


    Nothing in life is as certain as death, but death is not a wall but a doorway to a new adventure

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305
    Originally posted by gibsinep
    Well your slow down would be due to your Video card. Try lowering the game to lowest res and lowest detail and see if it works. If it does decently then it is your video card. The geforce 2 mx200 is really not that good of a gaming card, Also try updating to the latest nvidia driver. www.nvidia.com


    Also those beeps maybe an overheat warning, I dont know though that isnt very common for a P4.


    Hmm.... that's odd i have it set at 1600x1200 at 32bit color
    with 3D enviromental sound (EAX3)

    and it runs super smooth for me, even after enabling the whole City Civil War cheat, you know all killing, crashing, demolition, explosion, fire, earthquake,, etc.

    and with all that heavy action, everything runs fine.

    not to mention the different Trainers i use to make a Chaos out of the City

    LOL

    i just play it to do crazy stuff, not really follow that stupid story line.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1 x Abit KR7A-133
    1 x AMD Athlon XP 2000+
    4 x 512Mb DDR = 2048 Mb, or 2 Gig
    4 x Maxtor 160 Gig HDD (udma 133)
    1 x Plextor 40/20/40 (udma 33)
    1 x Creative 8x PC-DVD (udma)
    1 x Sound Blaster Audigy (pci)
    1 x Generic Rockwell v.90 PCI modem (pci)
    1 x 3com EtherFast 10/100 (pci)
    1 x ATI All-in-Wonder 8500 DV 64Mb (agp)
    1 x ATI Remote Wonder (usb)
    1 x Logitech Cordless Freedom Optical (PS/2)
    1 x Logitech Z-560 (audio out)
    1 x Optiquest Q90 (vga)
    1 x Logitech QuickCam 510 (usb)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ... Live Long and Prosper! ... \\||||//
    Last edited by AllGamer; 07-30-2002 at 09:28 AM.

  7. #7
    Gone Forever....... gibsinep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    6,527
    AllGamer- This would be because you have a Radeon 8500 and he has a Geforce 2mx 200
    Nothing in life is as certain as death, but death is not a wall but a doorway to a new adventure

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305
    geez... thanks for pointing out the Obvious, i was just giving him some hope.

    well with proper customization, and if he kills all the junks that loads in the background.

    then it will definitely improve.

    i'll play around with the AGP settings.

    new video drivers.

    other Windows Tweaks

    i recommend X-Setup
    be warned it can kill your system, if you do not now what you are doing.

  9. #9
    Member cloutty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    The Nidge (Herts) UK
    Posts
    146

    Bigjakkstaffa

    Thanks for the advice, how do I "ENABLE the frame rate limiter", is it a game setting or a driver setting ?

    Cheers

    Cloutty

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Itss under the visual settign of the games options - acess it from the main menu

    --Jakk

    --sorry its still not perfect but it may help
    "You don't know Jakk..."

    Windows Vista Business x64
    Hiper 580Watt PSU -- Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3L -- Intel Core2Quad 6600 -- 4GB PC6400 -- 256MB GeForce FX7800GT
    SATA-II HDD 1x500Gb/1x400GB/1x250GB-- 1x120GB ATA-100 HDD
    [/B]

  11. #11
    Member cloutty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    The Nidge (Herts) UK
    Posts
    146
    thanks mate I will give it a try

  12. #12
    Member PuterTutor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    198
    I had the same problem, went back to the 23.11 drivers, and everything is smooth as silk now. I'd check out some older drivers, they may work better for you.
    System Specs:
    ____________
    Athlon XP 1800
    Shuttle Ak31 v2.0
    Dragon Orb 3
    256 Mb PC2100
    30 Gig Maxtor
    32Mb Nvidia Tnt2 Agp
    Lots of Blood, Sweat, and Tears...

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305

    Re: Sporadically slow GTA3

    Originally posted by cloutty
    Hi Folks,
    blah... blah... blah...
    Cloutty
    this thread is already ongoing here:

    http://www.sysopt.com/forum/showthre...hreadid=112660

  14. #14
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    ...i already knew that...



    --Jakk
    "You don't know Jakk..."

    Windows Vista Business x64
    Hiper 580Watt PSU -- Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3L -- Intel Core2Quad 6600 -- 4GB PC6400 -- 256MB GeForce FX7800GT
    SATA-II HDD 1x500Gb/1x400GB/1x250GB-- 1x120GB ATA-100 HDD
    [/B]

  15. #15
    Mod w/ an attitude Sterling_Aug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Schuylkill Haven, PA 1797
    Posts
    12,786
    The two threads have been merged. Please do NOT double post.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •