dcsimg
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: P3 1gig or 1gig Duron, Need advice..

  1. #1
    Junior Member Ruffus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16

    P3 1gig or 1gig Duron, Need advice..

    Anybody tell me if there is much of a speed difference between these two CPU's.
    1 GigHz Duron
    1GigHz P3
    Need to know as i have the oportunity of one or the other,.

    Thanks for any info..
    Time is the fire in which we burn..

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member otheos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales, UK
    Posts
    2,531
    The Duron is within 10% of the p3, but only costs 1/4 the price.

    Also remember that the two cpu's dont use the same mobo so your choice may be restricted by that.

  3. #3
    Gone
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5,713
    Had the same choice myself a ways back. Are you buying or are they being given to you? If buying, I got the Duron 1gig for $40. so the P3 lost out. They are close in performance on every day uses. Gameing the P3 is a little stronger in but other than that. I would get the Duron if you are worried about $ as the P3 is 4x as expensive. Why not add a couple bucks and go for a low-end XP like 1500/1600+ or something? Anybody got good prices on one? If you are a die hard gameing freak (like myself) get the XP of P3. If you game casual get the Duron for the price. They are all good for dif. things. Thats why I got a P4 and a Duron 1gig. Legacy apps. games and non optimised stuff goes on the duron and new games/divx encoders, etc. on the P4 with WinXP. Hope that helped some.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sheridan, Texas, USA
    Posts
    112
    @ newegg.com

    OEM CPUs

    AMD XP 1500+ $73
    1600+ $75
    1900+ $117

    EDIT : HS/F recomendation HCC-001(heatpipe version GREAT item)

    Maximum_Confusion
    Last edited by Maximum_Confusion; 06-26-2002 at 01:39 PM.
    MaxC


  5. #5
    Junior Member Ruffus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16

    P3 or Duron..

    Well i got given a mobo that will accept the P3 and it has a 4x agp slot on it too, so thought id go for that option as i also have 512Meg PC133 ram to go inside it too.
    Ill hang around ebay for a week or so and see what crops up in there..
    Time is the fire in which we burn..

  6. #6
    Gone
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5,713
    Is it a slot1 or a socket 370? CeleronII's are quiet good. I have a CeleronII 800mhz and it out benches the P3 750 on all tests. Alot cheaper too. The celeron I would not get but the II is really a P3 with half the L2 cache. A good price/performance combo. They had to do something as the Duron kills the celeron but II holds its own well.

  7. #7
    Senior Member smelanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Dartmouth NS, CAN
    Posts
    769
    Out of those 2 I would get a Duron unless the price didn't bother me then I would get the PIII, but you might as well get a low end P4 or Athlon XP.

  8. #8
    Junior Member Ruffus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16

    Went for the P3.

    I ended up getting a P3 as it was at a bargain price, its a socket 370 style one so i have to get a socket adapter but theyre reasonably cheap anyhow,
    Can anybody recomend me an adapter, am i right in thinking that theyre all pretty much the same.?

    Also im going from a P3-450 with 256meg ram Geforce 3 ( 2X AGP )
    to a
    P3-1gig 512Meg ( PC133 ) and geforce 3 ( 4X AGP )
    I should see quite a good performance jump..
    Anybody have any feedback on this.?

    Thanks again for everybodies input, much appreciated..
    Bye..
    Time is the fire in which we burn..

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Brighton, TN, US
    Posts
    117
    The Duron is a bit more than 10% of a p3 you have miscalculated that one
    Chris Stafford

  10. #10
    Junior Member Ruffus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16

    A bit more than 10%..??

    Would that be a bit more slower or faster.?
    Time is the fire in which we burn..

  11. #11
    Senior Member smelanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Dartmouth NS, CAN
    Posts
    769
    I would say you made a good choice, that is what I would have took, infact that is what I have

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member otheos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales, UK
    Posts
    2,531
    The Duron is a bit more than 10% of a p3 you have miscalculated that one
    He's right.

    You see the T-Bird 1G was almost 10% faster than the P3, and the Duron was typically 7% slower than the T-Bird. However the Duron 1G is not a Spitfire (i.e T-bird less L2) but a Morgan (i.e Palomino less L2), which means data prefetch, and SSE, that brings it to at least same levels of performance (although mostly faster) as the T-Bird 1G (except were L2 really matters) and thus the Duron 1G should be faster than the P3 1G. And this is without considerring DDR and 2 year more mature chipsets from when the original benchmarks were done.

    So yes, the Duron may edge the P3 by a bit

    What escapes me is how a 3 year old CPU like the P3 is still 4 times the price of a 6 month old one that is actually faster.
    Last edited by otheos; 06-27-2002 at 10:34 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •