//flex table opened by JP

Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : WARNING


Idnew
04-29-2000, 08:46 PM
There is a person posting under various names a great cool site on every BB he can find I think. Be warned if you go there to have firewall protection on as it will try to access credit card info on you pc. Read about it here.
http://discussions.virtualdr.com/Forum2/HTML/018560.html

socalgal
04-29-2000, 09:04 PM
Thanks for the warning and the link, Idnew.

He/she/they have been here: http://sysopt.earthweb.com/forum/Forum1/HTML/005836.html

I hope everyone uses caution concerning this. http://sysopt.earthweb.com/forum/frown.gif Or, at least a firewall.

RobRich
04-29-2000, 09:44 PM
I used the anonymous test at that site, and did receive a few hits on one of my firewall apps. I just diregarded it. I would recommend that people delete the ActiveX app that it places at:

C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files

I'm really glad I didn't sign up at their site, as I'm not interested in lamers that try to post SPAM on multiple boards.

Thanks Idnew,
Robert Richmond

Brydon
04-29-2000, 09:57 PM
I used it but have no important data on my pc but I deleted the file mentioned by RobRich...thanks for the warning.

Idnew
04-30-2000, 07:59 AM
Thanks for your link socalgal. Don't know how I missed it. New pc users beware of stuff like this.

Biff
04-30-2000, 10:16 AM
Thanks RobRich, I found that file and deleted it. A wake up call for me I guess, perhaps just having a virus scanner isn't enough uh!

CMonster
04-30-2000, 11:42 AM
I keep the following folders on my C drive:

"Passwords"

"Credit Card Numbers"

and

"Online Banking"

The contents of each folder is a small text file that says the following:

"Hi, I work for the government and I would just like you to know that if you are reading this we've almost got you."

chipbgt
04-30-2000, 02:06 PM
Hee Hee http://sysopt.earthweb.com/forum/smile.gif

Do you mind if I do that http://sysopt.earthweb.com/forum/wink.gif

Biff
04-30-2000, 02:57 PM
You work with Scully CMonster?

SysOpt
04-30-2000, 03:12 PM
Who started this so called "stealing credit card numbers" rumor?? Look at their about us page:

http://www.pcpitstop.com/aboutus.asp

RobRich
04-30-2000, 07:00 PM
It's not that I'm worried about anyone extracting information from my system. If they really want to know anything about me, my computer is not the best place to start, unless your just dying to see my Winamp playlist http://sysopt.earthweb.com/forum/wink.gif.

The rumor was started on another BBS from an individual that got a big time firewall hit at that site. His firewall informed him that certain data was trying to be accessed from that site's IP. I was probably just a few overcautious settings for his firewall that did this, not the site.

Why I'm not supporting that site, is that I don't like what appears to be company employees spamming multiple BBS's inorder to gain traffic and business. I don't have a need for a site that tries to SPAM up traffic. It's lie getting junk mail, I consider it worthless and annoying.

Robert Richmond

[This message has been edited by RobRich (edited 04-30-2000).]

SysOpt
05-02-2000, 01:23 PM
I agree that spamming boards was not the best way to spread the word.

Idnew
05-03-2000, 12:56 AM
After reading all the BB on this topic I just don't know how legit they are or not so I think I will wait and see and research on it. Here is what others are saying and I have noticed that some not all that are defending it are new members so I think it is just more spamming under different names. :confused:
http://mb.nowonder.com/ultimate/Forum2/HTML/011065.html