Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Repeated scans on my computer
pickel
01-31-2000, 05:42 PM
Is there some entity that I can complain to instead of sending this company( Double Click.net) a nasty email?? They've been hammering my computer constantly for about an hour now.
the pickel
the address is 209.249.231.15
Anyone else getting hit??
[This message has been edited by pickel (edited 01-31-2000).]
socalgal
01-31-2000, 06:56 PM
Hi pickel,
The proper entity would be Double Click's ISP, but ... good luck. http://www.sysopt.com/forum/frown.gif
Have you been to DC's site?
http://www.doubleclick.com/privacy_policy/
Interesting reading, in part...
DoubleClick does, however, collect non-personally identifiable information about you, such as the server your computer is logged onto, your browser type (for example, Netscape or Internet Explorer), and whether you responded to the ad delivered.
What I would do is a regedit to make sure there are no registry entries to which it's calling. Keep ALL cookie options in browsers disabled. (Some sites require cookies to access.. this can be your choice whether you wish to enable)
I hope some of this helps.
tonym
01-31-2000, 06:59 PM
I sympathize with you pickel!
I've gotten 4 probes/scans in the past 3 or so hours. None from Double Click, however!
This is a pattern that I'm really getting fed up with. This **** is a violation. If I didn't have the software (BlackIce), I'd probably have someone creeping around my HDD without my knowlegde by now!
I've forwarded each and every ping I get to my ISP (Mindspring), but so far I've only received the auto-response back...no human contact. I know they've probably got more important things to do, but...I'm mighty sick of the attempts.
{Boy socalgal, you REALLY type fast!!!!!!}
Tony
[This message has been edited by tonym (edited 01-31-2000).]
Zone Alarm has alerted me to the same... I'm just wondering what the guy was doing. I was at Sysopt when I got this lot in quarter of an hour...
31/1/00 23.59.22 212.49.233.225 tried to access xx.xxx.xx.xx (TCP Port 1243)
31/1/00 23.59.42 212.49.233.225 tried to access xx.xxx.xx.xx (TCP Port 27374)
1/2/00 00.12.14 212.49.242.139 tried to access xx.xxx.xx.xx (TCP Port 1243)
1/2/00 00.12.34 212.49.242.139 tried to access xx.xxx.xx.xx (TCP Port 27374)
I keep a whois page ( http://www.ripe.net/cgi-bin/whois ) bookmarked now, which gave me:
inetnum: 212.49.224.0 - 212.49.255.255
netname: SCREAMING-NET
descr: Screaming Free ISP
descr: Froglike ISP, used for Netlink dial customers
descr: London
country: GB
etc etc
I sent a polite note to abuse@ - it's not my ISP and I thought it unlikely that Sysopt's banner ads would originate in the UK (though I could be wrong!) http://www.sysopt.com/forum/smile.gif
I'm amazed and intrigued to discover what goes on behind your back when your are online!
U-96
(~edit) I just has a thought... if I try, as someone else suggested, http:// <IP number here> would this show up as a http 8080 attack on the other persons firewall if they weren't a webserver? Just wondering...?
[This message has been edited by U-96 (edited 02-01-2000).]
pickel
02-01-2000, 07:18 AM
U 96: Getting hit all the time!!. I contacted Bellsouth and am waiting for a reply on what is their policy for these guys before I do anything else. Great site!!! Will have to spend some time there and get aquainted. Do you know what all the numbers mean in the
in the " cookies notepad" ? Some how, I've disabled cooies being written to my HDD or temp internet file but are recorded on cookies notepad and my Netscape user's log.
Would like to know what all this means.
I think it just gives a record of who is trying to put a cookie on your( mine)
machine. Like I have said, just when you think you have something figured out, a whole new world opens up. Life on the net!!!
the pickel
pickel
02-01-2000, 07:34 AM
Well, after all the posting about Zone Alarm, it looks like it really works and we can all feel a LITTLE bit more secure while on line.
As soon as I get a reply from Bellsouth I'll let ya'll know. Maybe they have a policy and the power to do something about these unwarrated hits.
UncaDanno
02-01-2000, 07:52 AM
Pickel,
Good luck getting more than an auto-reply from Bellsouth. That's all I ever get from them. (Just for grins, go to their "support" newsgroup and see just how responsive they really are.)
Better bet would be to call their support number and try to get hold of a meat-based support unit instead of a silicon-based one.
jad1097
02-01-2000, 08:16 AM
I installed whois2 it is much easier to find out who it is that way.Got it from here http://www.utilitygeek.com/
Talk about getting attacked,get a cable modem.I think @ home should include a good firewall with their software.
SysOpt.com
Copyright Internet.com Inc. All Rights Reserved.