//flex table opened by JP

Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : "Derived from envelope" messages


scouselad
02-28-2004, 06:18 PM
Does anyone have any idea why I would be receiving blank messages headed "Derived from envelope"??
Below is the header from one of these messages (I have received dozens of them). I am using Mozilla 1.6 as my mail client.
BTW These messages are only arriving at my Tiscali mail account, and not any of my other accounts. Also, I assume that 69.177.22.173 (as quoted in the header below) was my IP address when I received the email.

Thanks in advance,
Allan Lewis.

From: - Mon Feb 23 17:02:29 2004
X-UIDL: 33063
X-Mozilla-Status: 0001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
Return-Path: <sad@ffsw212a2.com>
Received: from 69.177.22.173.adsl.snet.net (69.177.22.173) by mk-cpfrontend.uk.tiscali.com (6.7.018) id 4035288D00A1AABC; Mon, 23 Feb 2004 15:02:21 +0000
Sender: sad@ffsw212a2.com (derived from envelope by postmaster@uk.tiscali.com)
Date: Mon, 23 Feb 2004 15:02:21 +0000 (added by postmaster@uk.tiscali.com)
Message-ID: <4035288D00A1AABC@mk-cpfrontend-7.mail.uk.tiscali.com> (added by postmaster@uk.tiscali.com)
Received: from 181.72.229.211

omendata
02-28-2004, 07:16 PM
its a forged address and its in the states (Texas)!

Ignore it , its a phisherman!

Always look at the email address first!
That saves you time even bothering to check it out!
Just add it to you rblocked senders list - dont reply to it and dont allow any of you remail packages to send confirmation of recieve or read emails!

Same with you antivirus package - amazing how many companies allow their antiviurs gateways to let the virus senders know that they are out there , what antivirus they are running etc

Ye haff to laff!

I take it you are in Manchester or liverpool cable network?
Cable & wireless maybe?

scouselad
02-29-2004, 07:55 AM
Thanks omendata.
I know it's a forged address, but I just didn't see the point of these messages. They have absoutely no content (as shown by using "view source") so I don't see how they could do any damage to my PC. On the other hand, of course I wouldn't allow my software to send a read receipt or anything like that.

Thanks again,
scouselad

ps - yeah i'm from liverpool - did u do a trace on that ip or something??

omendata
02-29-2004, 10:04 AM
No its a type of phish attack!

These messages of all types are sent out to an autogenerated list of email addresses to try and harvest live email addresses for sale to database companies and other nefarious purposes!
Innocent users might be tempted to reply or they could contain viruses / exploits etc - Lots of reasons!

http://searchsecurity.techtarget.com/sDefinition/0,,sid14_gci916037,00.html

Yea I did a bit of tracing - bored last night!
lol

:t

scouselad
02-29-2004, 12:35 PM
Thanks for your help!

scouselad