Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : This is a little screwy.
tony_j15
11-14-2002, 01:44 PM
Ok, someone started a thread saying,Hey, come visit our forum. It was closed. Now if you'll notice at the top of the page, there is a thread "Free T-Shirts for chatting about CPU's". It has been sticky for quite a while. That don't seem quite right. :mad:
Someone wants to invite people to another forum, so what?
Steve R Jones
11-14-2002, 01:58 PM
Well one site that’s being advertised is owned by the same people that own THIS site. Will let you figure out which one;)
NJEnviroguy
11-14-2002, 03:27 PM
I could understand if the thread was started by some guy trolling through different forum sites to generate popularity. But if "regular" posters want to drop a relevant site or simply an additional place to find info, I would get quited POed myself if the post was edited or the whole thread shut down. I didn't see that thread at all, btw.
Steve R Jones
11-14-2002, 04:02 PM
Technically speaking, starting a thread for the sole purpose of “advertising” a new site is against the AUP here. Contacting the marketing department and paying for banner space is the proper way to go.
However, I let the thread run for a couple of days anyway. If you’ll read it, you have a much better understanding as to why it was closed.
tony_j15
11-14-2002, 06:59 PM
Thankyou,
Were not trying to compete with Sysopt tho, we just wanna help people, youre right we need to offer people something that other places don't. any ideas ?
We just want to build a really good knowledge base and help place for everyone, Sysopt is ok, but theres a few things and people here that are a bit well ya know, (well were not going into that). Were not bothered if a member posts once a week, we just want some good knowledge able people who want to help and build a really good quality site.
We've added it to all search engine but arn't doing very well, and its a bit more disheartening when its your engine powering it! thats has taken me ages to write, (it isn't finsihed yet tho).
So gis a chance please, maybe sign up and post once a month or somat, or more often if people have the time!
Thanks
Andy
http://www.coolchip-computers.co.uk/theshed/
Only thing I see is possible mod/member bashing.
tony_j15
11-14-2002, 07:05 PM
You will not post advertisements, chain letters, pyramid schemes, or solicitations, all of which are inappropriate and prohibited in the Forums. You will not, furthermore, collect personal information about forum members for the purpose of sending them any such advertisements, chain letters, pyramid schemes, or solicitations through other means (email, messaging programs, etc.).
Again, only rule that might have been broken.
AllGamer
11-14-2002, 07:08 PM
...are you working for that site? :p
it sounds like you are defending that AMD guy that was Advertizing here :D
tony_j15
11-14-2002, 07:18 PM
Originally posted by AllGamer
...are you working for that site? :p
it sounds like you are defending that AMD guy that was Advertizing here :D
No, I'm just not sure it was a fair decision.
Steve R Jones
11-14-2002, 08:23 PM
Originally posted by tony_j15
Only thing I see is possible mod/member bashing.
Again, only rule that might have been broken.
Tony, sure looks like you answered your own question doesn’t it?
tony_j15
11-14-2002, 08:52 PM
Originally posted by Steve R Jones
Tony, sure looks like you answered your own question doesn’t it?
Yea. Dont get me wrong like I'm mad and gonna take it to court and all. I'z just wondering why. And I still don't think I have a decent answer. But that's OK. We'll all live.:)
gjimene2
11-14-2002, 09:00 PM
Tony, in other words. If you break the rules here, You'll get your post edited or deleted. Or will get something said to you.
And think of you selling fried chicken for 5bux a bucket, and someone in a chicken custome is outside saying that their company can sell you chicken for 3bux a bucket. How would you feel?
tony_j15
11-14-2002, 09:05 PM
If you break the rules here, You'll get your post edited or deleted
Then why is this (http://www.sysopt.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=111092) still running? I don't see the difference between the 2.:confused:
gjimene2
11-14-2002, 09:24 PM
read what it's about and you'll see.
keywords: Seti, Sysopt
tony_j15
11-14-2002, 09:29 PM
have read it. So what? Private site being promoted, no, honored!
why the difference? Sysopt is not an official sponsor are they?? So why are they giving it preference??
gjimene2
11-14-2002, 09:40 PM
yea, we have a FORUM.
http://www.sysopt.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=11
look throught the forum and you'll see what I mean.
tony_j15
11-15-2002, 01:50 PM
Originally posted by gjimene2
yea, we have a FORUM.
http://www.sysopt.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=11
Been through. I don't get that comment. "We have a forum"???
gjimene2
11-15-2002, 06:02 PM
Look through the forum Tony. It's mainly for SETI, and the SYSOPT Seti team.
tony_j15
11-16-2002, 01:45 PM
Actually the forum is entitled "Distributed Computing
Discuss the RC5-64 effort, distributed.net, SETI@Home and other projects." It just so happens that people decided that they were going to use it for the sysoptsetiteam. Which is not sponsored by sysopt is it? It is taking a private site and saying, "hey, check us out." Thats all this guy was doing! (http://www.sysopt.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=122303) Seti needs help whereas this guy is trying to help others. That just seems a little screwy.
gjimene2
11-16-2002, 03:35 PM
ok, think of it as a college.
techimo vs sysopt
both have seti teams
both want to cream one another at it.
distributed computing is the gym for Seti.
therefore we are a community have seti
there fore we do seti.
and if you try to recruit our memebers to another college, you will be creamed.
tony_j15
11-16-2002, 06:25 PM
I understand your point of view. Nice parallel by the way. I'm not going to argue this any longer. :cool:
gjimene2
11-17-2002, 02:32 AM
:D
well, just thought of saying it in a non-techie way :)
SysOpt.com
Copyright Internet.com Inc. All Rights Reserved.